We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap place to stay for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarkston Motor Inn

Clarkston Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clarkston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarkston Motor Inn
Save
You added Clarkston Motor Inn to your Saves list
6853 Dixie Hwy, Clarkston, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clarkston
London, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A cheap place to stay for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We wanted a place close to the DTE (Pine Knob) for a night while we were in town seeing a concert there. The Clarkston Motor Inn is approx. 10-15 minutes away, it's cheap but it's clean and comfortable enough to suit our needs. The lady at the office was very friendly as well. The only problem we had was the water has a strong, musty smell to it as do the towels so we skipped our morning shower. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We found them very accommodating and they were more than helpful with returning some items that I had accidentally left behind. Great service!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We had traveled from OHIO and was going to a concert at DTE and we really only needed a place to crash for the night and thats exactly what you get. The room had a blue velour couch, blue shag carpet, a bed and a bathroom. Thats the ammenities. The lady at the desk was kinda rude, she told us to "leave the party on the hill" which ment, no partying there after the concert. The price of our room was $60 and you get what you pay for. We were just happy to be close to the venue and the location was very safe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

This is a no frills motor inn. When I say no frills. I mean NONE.
We've stayed here on a couple of occasions when our power was out for the night. The rooms were tiny but it was only for a night and close to our home but what do you want for 45/night? The rooms prior to this occasion were not bad or maybe we were desperate.
Our power went out Sunday morning so we decided to go here once again. Usually our power in a rural area is the last to be fixed and it usually takes days.
We noticed first the nightly stay was more. It is now 60/night. It used to be 45. We paid for the room and was given ROOM 4.

When we walked into our room, it stunk to high heaven. Pure mildew. It stunk bad. We couldn't even stay in the room. We left went over to our sons. The owners refused to reimburse us for our booking the room even though we immediately contacted them and told them.
We decided to return to our home to pick up some additional items and our power was back on.
DONT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU HAVE TO.

  • Liked — the location to our home
  • Disliked — the smelly room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clarkston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarkston Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkston Motor Inn

Address: 6853 Dixie Hwy, Clarkston, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Clarkston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clarkston
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Clarkston Motor Hotel Clarkston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarkston Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.