We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doherty Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doherty Hotel

Doherty Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Save Saved
You added Doherty Hotel to your Saves list
604 North McEwan Street, Clare, MI 48617   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Flint, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doherty Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I were just at the Doherty for 3-nights on a Golfing package from July 6th - 9th 2014. The room was very clean. The food was excellent. The staff would go above and beyond. The pool area was very clean and the pool was like bath water. This was my 1st year going on this trip with a group of people that have been going to the Doherty for years. We will be back. Excellent job to the Doherty staff for making this a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    9
    7
    37
See reviews for
32
40
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. We didn't have any hot water one night. The front desk sent someone up within five minutes and the problem was solved. The pool area looked nice and inviting. The room was very comfortable and very clean. The staff was awesome and we also enjoyed the restaurant. Can 't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed at the Doherty on a business trip. I was completely and utterly disappointed! I stayed in room 103 across from the pool, in what I was told was the "new" section of the hotel by staff. They did indicate that they did not use the rooms in the "old" part since they need renovations. I can say that the room I stayed in was in need of major renovations itself. Very dated! For a place that bills itself as a hotel and conference center it would seem logical to have a desk and chair in the rooms, not just a table with two kitchen type chairs. The beds were awful and the walls were so thin I could hear EVERYTHING in the rooms on either side of me!

Room Tip: Another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhaven, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel two weeks after staying there charged me $750 saying all three rooms where smoked in. Only one person out of the 7 smoke cigs and that is me and I went in my truck to do it. Tried calling and they hung up on me. They do this I think because they have no other customers to pay there bills . Now I have to hire a lawyer so I don't get robbed of my $. So if u stay there do not give them anything but cash!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel could be a real piece of history if fixed up a little. It is a nice place to stay, staff is very friendly and willing to accommodate you with what you need. Its a little outdated but I enjoy staying here when I'm passing through.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great time and great party. This was our second year in a row to attend the New Year's Eve bash. It was a lot of fun. The Sinclair's are a great band and know how to get the party rolling. The food was delicious. There could have been a better flow of the lines, something that they need to work on next year. And...as I have said before, the spa area needs a little updating. Staff is always courteous and friendly and willing to help and Shirley in the lounge was always on top of her game keeping us well fed and never thirsty. Great Job Shirley!

Room Tip: We chose rooms on the second floor that are king rooms that overlook the pool area. They are very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Doherty has quite a a history, Purple Gang, hauntings, murals, a Buffet - a delicious BUFFET and all that that entails. If you don't like Buffets, don't bother complaining. Because it is awesome. Clare, MI is delightful and food is plentiful. Cops and Doughnuts is across the street. As is Whitehouse - an amazing diner. But for a lovely, historical place to lay your head - please choose Doherty over Notel Sixes, EcoNOLodges, and other cookie cutter places. The room decor is sparse, but the very spacious with desk space, chairs and benches for visitors, beds are comfy, blankets are warm and pillows are plenty. Refrigerators, Irons and Ironing Boards, flat screen televisions and free internet are included. The pool area is clean and welcoming and even on a busy weekend - comfortable. No fitness center - BUT - the Clare Family Fitness down the street has a reciprocal agreement and I believe is open 24 hours. I was here on New Years Eve weekend and I am fairly certain most rooms were booked - I did not hear anything from anyone elses' rooms slight noise in the hallway, but nothing that would be considered out of the ordinary or intrusive. The staff is exceptional, from the group sales, to the front desk, to the bar staff. The regulars are equally delightful. This is not a stop to be missed in Mid Michigan. Big Thumbs up from me!

Room Tip: I was on the third floor - and I loved my room, spacious, clean, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Address: 604 North McEwan Street, Clare, MI 48617
Location: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doherty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.