We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doherty Hotel

Doherty Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Save Saved
You added Doherty Hotel to your Saves list
604 North McEwan Street, Clare, MI 48617   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just another room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last two years. The staff is very friendly. Rooms where just ok. This hotel could be a real gem if it was cared for more. It is sad that they do not make the updates so badly needed to make this a destination hotel in the center of Michigan.
The rooms are like the sixties and seventies. The hotel it's self is warm and quaint, with a turn of the century charm. Food is good, and the facility is set up to be a premier banquet center. It just that the guest rooms fall short. I would really like to this hotel live up to its potential. It really become a "couples get away resort" in the heart of Michigan.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the newer section. I hear they some more updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    9
    7
    37
See reviews for
32
40
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Au Gres, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was my hubby and I's first night out since we had our first (he's 2 now, our daughter is 1) so we wanted to go all out. We bought the Rejuvenating Rendezvous package and stayed in the JFK Suite. The room was great, TV was huge, the jacuzzi wasn't but it was big enough. The fireplace didn't work kept shutting off when we tried to turn the heat up but we turned the heat up on the room's thermastat so it didn't matter anyways. The bed was comfy and we slept pretty good. Our dinner at the hotel restaurant was amazing and the breakfast was pretty good too. It was our first time getting a massage and I think we are hooked. Overall a great experience and I think we might come back again next time we get a night out.

Room Tip: 170 (JFK Suite) was great. Nice room with HUGE TV and nice jacuzzi tub. Fireplace didn't work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Plan on knowing what the adjacent room folks are doing and saying. Outdated, but was expecting no less given the few choices. Nice staff and reasonable rates. Just wished they would have insulated the walls.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were travelling up north for the weekend and decided to stay night in Clare due to sudden snow. We have eaten at The Doherty Hotel several times before and decided to stay the night in hopes of better weather the next day. The hotel is historic and old but has updated and recently added on new banquet halls/restrooms etc. Rooms it seems have been updated (past 5 years or so.) Hotel has a nice restaurant as well as a bar/restaurant (which we ate at). Hotel price was $100 which we considered reasonable for what we experienced (rooms are $80 during week we were told.) The staff was pleasant and helpful, no complaints there. Room was a king suite, with coffee maker, refrig but no microwave. Room was clean, large with a large flat screen with about 50 channels. Bathroom was clean and roomy with nice walk-in shower with a built in seat. Ample furniture with soft comfy chair. Some small tears in wallpaper but room was not shabby at all. One big drawback was that the bedding was on the thin side, pillows as well but it seemed clean. The bed was comfortable We didn't have our swim suites but they do have a large in-door pool and a separate whirl-pool which looked clean and inviting. The entire hotel seemed very quiet and once we were in the room, we could not hear any outside noise.

Overall, we would probably stay again, especially during week at $80/night. The Doherty is a very nice stay, in a small historic city. They provided a nice breakfast buffet and do offer room-service (which we didn't take advantage of). If you are in area, worth a stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor and close to entrance and restaurants, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were here for a bridge tournament attended by almost 90 people. This was all handled fine by the staff. Our room, while in the "new" part of the Doherty, was very out dated. The pillows were pretty bad. The room was large & clean. The food was average for a buffet. We wouldn't stay here again unless we were part of a group that booked here.

Room Tip: The "newer" area is said to be best, but didn't see the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After being a local for years to Clare Co and moving away. We came back to visit some family and they booked us a room here. First time and last time stay. My expectations were supremely let down. We entered the room which was 2 queens; #168. The walls were stained and skidded up with skid marks as if someone were playing hockey on the walls. The paint is blotchy and sad. For the 100 a night for the double queen(king room we had originally booked) I'd say it was rather sad. I would save the money and stay at a super8 for half the cost. I would rate this at or less than a super8 quality. If I were working in the area I'd probably stay somewhere else.












Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in the older part of the hotel, and the furnishings were a little "tired". But the room was clean and spacious. The public hallways on the main floor were in the process of being redecorated while we were there, and it looked like it was going to be quite lovely when it was done. The location in the middle of the downtown area is very convenient. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you want more modern, upscale furnishings, then ask to stay in the newer section.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Address: 604 North McEwan Street, Clare, MI 48617
Location: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doherty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.