We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doherty Hotel

Doherty Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Save
You added Doherty Hotel to your Saves list
604 North McEwan Street, Clare, MI 48617   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Manistee, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel considering they claimed it was just newly renovated! The restaurant is but the hotel hasn't seen work in years. Our room was old outdated and smelly. The rooms and hallways seemed to be very tired and in need of renovation. The bedspread in our room had a white stain on it, the shower curtain had mold or mildew along the bottom. The rate was attractive but next time will spend a little more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    12
    7
    37
See reviews for
32
42
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When staying at this hotel last week with my family. We found that three out of the five rooms were not cleaned at all or not very well. The front desk woman Rhonda was very helpful and said she had mentioned to management that housekeeping wasn't doing their job and this was being ignored. The second floor had a smell of someone doing drugs. She was helpful, but seemed overwhelmed do to the amount of complaints she was getting about dirty rooms the whole time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Although the general location is good if you have business in Clare downtown. The rooms are small and the walls are not very sound proof this will be punctuated by your next store neighbor if they snore. Interior was fairly clean, but very dated, and the blanket on the bed should have been retired many years ago. No additional blankets were in the room, and we don't like to sleep under the bedspreads. Therefore, we were chilly and awake most of the night -- not good, when you have professional work to do the next day. The rate was fairly cheap which is what drew us in(my father set things up). The breakfast was unappealing as well; fortunately, the Whitehouse is across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The reviews for this place were all over the board so instead of believing some I listened to others. If you are even considering this place do not stay in the old sections. This was absolutely one of the worst hotel stays in recent memory. Drab, run down room on third floor directly over Main Street. Zero noise insulation or double glazed windows making it the single loudest hotel room in recent memory. Walls were paper thin might as well have been rooming with those next door. Cars, buses, even sirens, and construction, all day and part of the night. I might as well have had the bed on the street itself. No fewer than six attempts to change rooms were denied by the hotel, despite my asking for a quiet room at check in. Four stars it isn't, More like a no star. Only positives were free Wi-Fi and a helpful waitress. Won't return anytime soon if at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Its nice to stay at a 1920s historic hotel, which is halfway from Detroit area to Mackinac Island and the Upper Peninsula. Stayed here for second year in a row before a golf trip. First time was in modern newer wing, and second time in very basic,simple 1920s section. The draw here is historic place, run by original family, with great dining. Lobby side has dining room,and opposite lobby is bar, where food served also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzysuzyQ, Director of Sales at Doherty Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your return visit and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and that you have taken notice of our independent, family-owned and operated status. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Reading these reviews and you would think this hotel has a split personality! Spencer and I have been staying here for almost 10 years. We keep coming back because of the quality of stay and service. This is not the Four Seasons. It is a family owned and run, older hotel, with staff that has always been pleasant and professional. On our recent visit, the Navy football team and families were staying. This is a very large undertaking. Never once did the staff behave overwhelmed, over look our requests, or appear ungrateful for our business. Visiting the bar, after the game, the staff made sure that they stayed open as long as needed so everyone could unwind and enjoy a beverage. While I am sure this had been a very long day for them, you would never know by their actions. Upon checking out, the same friendly faces were there to wish us a safe journey while setting up for what appeared to be a large wedding party.
So if you are looking for a soul-less hotel without character and where the staff turn over monthly and do not care whether you return or not, the Doherty isn't for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzysuzyQ, Director of Sales at Doherty Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for ten years of business! Thank you also for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you and guests like yourselves that take notice of the little things that set the Doherty Hotel apart from chain hotels and restaurants. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I think this hotel has a nice location. It is historical and the building has undergone renovation. I have stayed at this motel a few times and never had any real problems. I know enough to ask not to be put in the old hotel but in the "new" hotel which is showing quite a bit of wear because it is 15 years or so old. This time made up for all the good visits...it was bad. I had made my reservations on the phone and did not have a computer confirmation. I requested wo a ground floor room, a rollaway bed and extra towels the clerk at the property said no problem. We check in and they put us on the 2nd floor...ok, no biggie. We get to the room and there is no rollaway bed. Go down to the desk and they say they had no record of that, but they would get us one. We went out to eat and came back and our keys wouldn't work. Back down to the desk and get them reprogrammed. Back to the room and they had brought the bed. Time to start taking showers. Four towels do not cut it with 5 people. Back down to the desk to get towels. Again no record of this on my reservation. What is the point making prearrangements if the motel doesn't follow up? Of course they would have to bring us the towels. Finally they bring the towels and we are happy. Nobody ever said sorry about the problems. Next year we will be finding a new place to stay. I will say the beds are comfy and the lady at the desk when we checked out was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Address: 604 North McEwan Street, Clare, MI 48617
Location: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doherty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.