We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we did it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jiffy Mix Company

Jiffy Mix Company
201 W. North Street, Chelsea, MI
(734) 475-1361
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Chelsea
Type: Factory Outlets, Other
Attraction details
Saint Charles, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad we did it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Easy to get into a tour same day, but call ahead! Tour guides are excellent and friendly! You are taken to a very small auditorium and given a Jiffy muffin and water or coffee from the kitchenette in the auditorium. You view a twenty minute informative video that is quite interesting and sets you up to understand the walk through of the facility better. Your group has an opportunity to purchase cases of Jiffy mix at a price that beats store prices. You can also purchase a hardcover history of Jiffy, t-shirts, hats, and insulated bags all with the Jiffy logo. The stop in the 'store' is brief and simple. I loved that! No toys and candy and BS, just a few good items for sale. I bought two cases of mix and the insulated bag which is excellent quality. You receive your purchases when you exit the building, a great smooth system! Every person young and old gets a gift bag with mixes and a cookbook at the end. I just made the pumpkin cake recipe from the cookbook and it was delicious! I greatly preferred this real tour to over-commercialized pseudo tours (kellogg's Cereal City comes to mind).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Community Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Other than sometimes using their products, I have never been "into" Jiffy Mix. I rate them
excellent for the longterm, consistnt, exceptional level of community support. Here's to the
Holmes Family. They deserve out support.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“JIFFY MIX in the little blue box”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I cud tell you stories about the owner of this company as he was in my high school glass.......the few times he raced I INDY I thnk he did worse than DANICA.......but this not about Howdie The Owner [family business he got it by default] who modernized the place but about the little blue boxes.
THE LITTLE BLUE BOX HAS NEVER FAILED ME and if you follow the instructions even tastes good

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool way to learn about a product we all know and love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved visiting this historic local icon. Great free samples, Free tour. Very informative. The staff was well informed. We actually met Howdy Holmes, the president, in the lobby after the tour, and he was delightful. Great way to spend a day when the kids are off school!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It would be foolish not to try out this short, free tour. Call ahead and get on the list, it won't be disappointing. The tour staff is incredible. I was by myself and ended up with a group of older women and coupled with the staff it was a hilariously good time. You learn the history, see the production everything you would expect and a tour like this. I will go back every time I am in the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jiffy Mix Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jiffy Mix Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.