We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jiffy Mix Company

Jiffy Mix Company
201 W. North Street, Chelsea, MI
(734) 475-1361
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Chelsea
Type: Factory Outlets
Attraction Details
Saint Clair, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It would be foolish not to try out this short, free tour. Call ahead and get on the list, it won't be disappointing. The tour staff is incredible. I was by myself and ended up with a group of older women and coupled with the staff it was a hilariously good time. You learn the history, see the production everything you would expect and a tour like this. I will go back every time I am in the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thrilling exspiriance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

It is so cool to see how all the machines work. You get free mixes and a tour of the factory. I still can't believe this was the first cake mix company. An amazing activity.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Jiffy Mix Mill Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took a trip to the Jiffy Mix Plant and it was really interesting. It is only open M-F, but it is worth going to. You start out by watching a short movie slide about the company and then you get a bisket and a bottle of water. After the slide, the tour guide will talk about different things and answer questions. You will have the option of buying some items from a little stand if you want, then you tour the plant. At the end of the tour, each person will get a goodie bag to take home. The best part, is the tour is free. Chelsea is also a wonderful town to tour in. This is the only Jiffy mix plant in the world. Please allow about an hour and a half for the tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Neat tour, especially for Jiffy fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been using the Jiffy mixes for as long as I can remember, and my mom before me and my grandma before her, so when I found this factory tour I jumped on that bit of nostalgia. Ever since my son was little he loved the show "How It's Made" and before that the part of the Mr. Rogers show where Mr. McFeely would deliver a film for "Picture Picture" demonstrating how something was made in a factory. The Jiffy factory tour was perfect for him, loud and in-your-face, as they take you right into the factory and part of the production line. He also got a kick out of the little fabric hairnets we had to wear! The staff was friendly and accomodating, although if I recall it was not stoller or wheelchair friendly. Just something to keep in mind. At the end we got to take a sample of one of the boxed mixes home...a neat surprise. It's not a large facility, but one worth stopping at. Reservations are required, so call ahead.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assonet, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting & Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We toured the Jiffy Factory (aka Chelsea Milling Co.) and found it to be an unexpected pleasure. The tour is FREE and the staff there was very friendly and helpful. The tour includes a short video presentation and Q & A with the reps in a mini-auditorium, then a guided walk through the actual production facility. The whole hour or so experience seems suitable for all ages, and you do get some samples in the auditorium plus a departing gift bag of 2 Jiffy mixes. There's also the chance to buy Jiffy products and hats/t-shirts/cookbooks/etc. in a very 'soft sell' manner. All in all, I'd recommend the Jiffy Factory Tour, especially as a no-cost thing to do in the area.

There are some interesting little shops and such within walking distance in the 'downtown' area nearby, too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiffy Mix Company also viewed

 

Been to Jiffy Mix Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jiffy Mix Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jiffy Mix Company to your Saves list