We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of many nice eateries in Chelsea.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back to the Roots - CLOSED

Back to the Roots
115 S. Main St., Chelsea, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Mich
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“One of many nice eateries in Chelsea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Been there several times. Always decent food and service. One of many good restaurants in Chelsea. Good variety, casual dining. Only have been there for lunch and not sure of later hours.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Latte! Very Good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved my latte! Great Michigan Salad! Great Amish chicken sandwich! Good sushi, don't know why but my husband was not over impressed by our sushi. I liked it but I keep with the cooked stuff and he eats raw. In part he didn't like my selections so his critique may be unfair. Good American platter of ham and potatoes, ham was moderately processed. Funky atmosphere and good service. Ask about a tour of the Jiffy mis factory while you are in town. You can usually get added to a previously planned group. A tour guide at Jiffy made the recommendation for us to eat here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Funky place with great food, sourced responsibly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just learned about this coffee/tea cafe and restaurant in Chelsea and tried it for lunch today. I actually ordered breakfast (served til 2pm) because it sounded so good! I really enjoyed it. The atmosphere is nice, the service was fabulous, and all three of us ate up every bite!

I had the omelette which comes with 3 items (additional for $.50/ea). It came with toast and potato chunks. I chose the sourdough toast and at the advice of my sister, the spicy potatoes. The other option is herbed. The omelette was light and fluffy, ingredients not over-or under-cooked. The spicy potatoes were to die for. It seemed like that were cooked or tossed in a chili oil or sriracha sauce (not sure and I didn't ask). My aunt had the French toast and said it was very good too. Prices for most came in around $9-11. Portions were good. Their lunch menu looked good, too. Many others were enjoying wraps, sandwiches, soup, sushi, and salads. I know I'll give that side of the menu a try the next time.

The nice thing about it is they are supporting local growers and suppliers as much as possible and making things from scratch. They give back a portion of their proceeds to causes they say "rescue and restore the vulnerable" of the world. I'd come back for the good food and service; their philosophy is frosting on the cake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Food average, coffee best in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Heaping portions of average breakfast food from a broad menu. Good service in a funky environment. Broad changing selection of beans, freshly ground and prepared in a number of methods. Also large selection of teas. Food a three coffee and tea a four.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good spot for vegan/vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a really neat place--more cosmopolitan than you'd expect in such a small town. They have a coffee shop in the front (with AMAZING coffee prepared in a chemex or french press) and a full-service restaurant in the back. We came here three days in a row during our last visit to Chelsea! I loved the tofu scramble.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to the Roots also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back to the Roots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.