We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Fish” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Banningham Crown

The Banningham Crown
Church Road Banningham | Norwich, Banningham NR11 7DY , England
01263 733534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Banningham
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A 17th Century timbered inn in the rural village of Banningham.Log fires in Winter and sheltered patio and gardens in Summer.Located opposite historic church and village green.Run by the same family since 1991.5 ***** Food safety rating. Camra Good Beer Guide Listed. Cask Marque accredited.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold Fish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Lunching with a party of friends on a Wednesday fish as main course was only tepid when brought to table followed by a long wait for poor selection of veg. meant fish was cold when ready to eat. Seven members of party all suffered the same fate.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us. I have discussed the problem with you personally and again apologise for the mistake we made with your party. I do take all feedback very seriously and have followed up the problem and put steps in place to ensure this does not happen again. I was particularly disappointed as i know you have visited us many times before.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity to entertain your group again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    42
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Website was misleading its rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I'm totally confused by this pub. The website makes it look gastro and it was busy on a sat night. But it was soooo disappointing on every level - decor, menu (too many choices) and poor standard of food. All quantity no substance. The staff were warm and friendly but the chefs just don't know their food and the website should be more honest. Waste of money and time. It's just a pub serving big portions and bistro gravy. They also claim local produce but anyone with an ounce of food knowledge can tell its such a false claim.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us.I believe you are the gentleman i spoke to on Saturday evening who did have a problem with one meal which was fully refunded.
Sometimes we do make a mistake but we do take all comments very seriously and i understood the problem had been resolved to your satisfaction. I would like to point out that our website does not describe us as a gastro pub, in fact we are a traditional English pub with 17th Century decor in a 17th century building. We do not believe in stripping out and modernising our beautiful historical building but maintaining its traditional style.Our chefs do use local produce as displayed on our Proud of our Suppliers blackboard located in the bar which lists where our produce comes from.
I would like to reiterate that i appreciate your comments but it may just be that we are not the type of English pub you were seeking.
Kind Regards
Jeanie Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Still 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and i are regular visitors to the Crown and have never been disappointed. We don't mind the 12 mile trip from Norwich to pay a call here as it is worth it. As always, the food is of a high standard and the staff very welcoming. We like to be seated in the bar at our regular table but there is loads of room from the bar to the other dining rooms. Jeannie, the owner always has time to welcome people with a smile and a chat. The pub has a lovely atmosphere with old style beams and decor and at this time of year, a roaring fire. Real ales as well as the usual drinks are available but it's the food that surpasses and is the real gem in this Crown. Outside at the side/rear of the pub the car park has been expanded and very well landscaped. They needed the extra space because the popularity of the Crown has grown. Live music and themed nights are put on at certain times. This is our second review of the Crown and it still maintains a high standard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and continue to come back, travelling to visit us. It is good to know you appreciate our food and traditional pub decor. We believe it is our great food, friendly service and cosy atmosphere which our customers appreciate. Thank you so much
Kind Regards
Jeannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Spoilt for choice at lunchtime on Wednesday, we decided to return for lunch on Sunday, and weren't disappointed.......just amazed that we managed to eat so much!
Four of us each ordered a different main course (surely a chef's nightmare), all four arrived at the same time, along with a selection of fresh local vegetables. All beautifully cooked & presented and absolutely delicious.
Would we like a desert? Of course - and these were equally delicious. The only problem was choosing between treacle tart, pavlova, panacotta, and a whole list of other temptations.
I should also mention the beers - a good selection on draught, and it was a treat to see them served in the correct glasses.
The service was provided by cheerful smiling staff.
Would we return? Can't wait until our next visit to North Norfolk.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent 5 star review. We monitor the reviews which are fed back to the whole team and we all would like to take this opportunity to thank you.
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“2nd visit hen party meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here as part of my hen day it was y second visit following a very good experience first time. Food was very good as always. Ony complaint was my best friend had just had a baby and had a pushchair, staff not very accommodating in making room for it, almost felt as if it was an inconvieniance. We managed to fit it in thankfully but didn't feel that staff were too interested. Other then that a good time had by all. Beware if you have a pushchair or wheelchair, the place is not too accessible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry there was limited space around your table. We are currently enlarging our restaurant area with a view to providing our customers with easier access and more space around the tables. We are planning tn complete this work by beginning of March 2014. We appreciate your comments.
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banningham Crown also viewed

 

Been to The Banningham Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banningham Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.