We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Convenient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River Terrace to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River Terrace
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   847 S. Main Street, Cheboygan, MI 49721   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming and Convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this best western twice. It is a hop skip and a jump from mackinaw island, easy for those who want to take a day trip, and also a jumpoff point for exploring small beaches and gorgeous walks around michigan. On both occasions, I found the staff at the Best Western extremely warm, helpful and very professional to deal with. The owner is waiting with a smile, even if you arrive at the dead of night! The rooms had just been upgraded when I first stayed, with awesome and VERY comfortable beds, sparkling clean bathrooms, and a VERY CLEAN pool. I was impressed overall, and would definitely reccommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
47
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel made for an excellent place to stay on a recent visit to Cheboygan, MI. The room was extremely clean, and the rates were more than reasonable. The staff was very friendly and the customer service was great. The location is great, too (overlooking the Cheboygan River).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

"Life doesn't need to be so hard," the Best Western in Cheboygan seems to whisper. From the moment guests arrive at the hotel, beautifully situated in between the beautiful river terrace and ample free parking and eateries, their needs are anticipated. I have always felt that every hotel MUST include extremely helpful and courteous staff and immaculate rooms and this Best Western has both...and they have a pool :) I have stayed here twice now, once solo and once with family, and have thoroughly enjoyed myself each time. I can say in all honesty that I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: river terrace view is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel was very clean inside and outside. It is obvious that the staff makes every effort to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay. The rooms look like they were recently updated; new furniture, pictures, lamps, etc. They even have warm, white, fluffy comforters....very cozy. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool, however it was a sparkling pool that looked very clean. The river was relaxing to look at from the balcony, quite peaceful. I would highly recommend the Best Western River Terrace if you're staying in or around Cheboygan! Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the River Terrace Best Western on several occasions. I must say, out of all of the hotels in Cheboygan, this one is the best in every way possible. The landscaping & grounds were impeccable each time we visited. I am a neat freak so cleanliness is my greatest concern and I was ecstatic to find a spotless room, and upon closer inspection noticed the entire hotel is immaculate.
Included in our room was the best mattress, coffee maker, little fridge and we were delighted to have a front and back entrance/exit so we were able to dock and access our boat with no difficulty. After a long day of boating, it was relaxing to use the pool but even better in the hot tub. I don't exercise, but I did walk by the fitness area and wave to my husband while he was running on one of the treadmills after eating a delicious breakfast. The breakfast offered a nice selection of food; Belgium waffles, bagels, a variety of fresh fruit, muffins, juices, cereal, donuts and more.
The staff went beyond friendly, they accommodated us with pleasure and genuine smiles. I don't see that very often, so it was delightful feeling like a well-treated guest and not a burden. It is a stone’s throw to Mackinaw City, the Mackinaw Bridge, Nubs Nob, the Inland Waterway and various other attractions without the expensive price tag of a touristy hotel.
The best part: checking in. The worst part: checking out.

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor rooms which have the front entrance by the hotel parking lot, and a rear en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great location, outstanding service, and a terrific facility. If you find yourself in Cheboygan (as I did) and need a place to stay, you would be doing yourself a disservice if you don't stay here. i highly recommend this Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed once and would stay again! Rooms were clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the river. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River Terrace

Address: 847 S. Main Street, Cheboygan, MI 49721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Cheboygan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN River Terrace 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Cheboygan River in northern Michigan, the Best Western River Terrace is committed to providing the best in customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. Our hotel rooms feature cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub, exercise facility, boat docking and business services. Pets are also welcome.Guests enjoy being close to key area attractions such as the Cheboygan Crib Lighthouse, the Cheboygan State Park, Cheboygan Memorial Hospital and Mackinac Bridge. Only 12 miles away, guests can visit beautiful Mackinaw Island and Fort Michilimackinac. This riverfront hotel also offers convenient access to local events such as the Wanigan Festival, the Cheboygan Country Fair and Riverfest.Make your reservations today, and the friendly staff at the Best Western River Terrace will ensure you have a fun-filled memorable stay in Cheboygan, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN River Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River Terrace Hotel Cheboygan
Best Western Cheboygan
Cheboygan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.