We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Reasonable price. Great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier M33 On The Cheboygan

Pier M33 On The Cheboygan
9500 North M 33, Cheboygan, MI 49721
+1 231-268-3336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Cheboygan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: New in 2011, serving an eclectic fare created by renowned chef Rich Travis. Also offering a 75-slip marina on the famous Inland Waterway. Located near the junction of M 33 and M 27 just south of Cheboygan.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food. Reasonable price. Great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had the Smoked Chicken Pasta. WONDERUL! Wife had the Strawberry Spinach Salad. Also very good. Place was busy but service was great and food came out fast. Probably one of the most perfectly paced meals I have ever had. Went right from salad to app to entrée in perfect timing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great servers, waterfront setting, but this place had gotten very pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have been eating here, and still do but "The Pier" has gotten to the point that you have to be either ready to spend 16-18 for a salad or shop the menu very carefully. That has taken some of the fun out of going here to eat. Not sure exactly who they are aiming at for customers, but it seems a bit steep for a place like this. Interior decor is ok. Tables outside are ok. Food is good. Servers are absolutely great! Food has gotten big ticket even by big-city standards. Imagine a burger for 12-13 plus 3+ for fries!! Go anyplace for more ambitious menu items in most cities and save money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YOU MUST EAT HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I concur with previous reviewers who rave about this restaurant. It is easy to locate, has a very nice view of the river, and eating outdoors on the covered porch even in the rain and temp in the upper 60's was pleasant. Our waiter, Don, was phenomenal. We ate here for the first time and were equally impressed by the food and service. The four of us had a variety of meals and desserts, all of which were outstanding both in presentation and flavor. Having eaten in many of the better restaurants in this region, I can easily say that Pier 33 is the new kid on the block that is THE place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Mi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best food in northeast Michigan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Oh my goodness! We were stunned at how wonderful this restaurant is. From the friendly and knowledgeable wait staff to the manager and especially the EXCELLENT Chef! Walking in and seeing morel mushroom stuffed pheasant gave me a pleasant pause.... I had no idea this place was absolutely top notch. Don't miss it! Truly, this is the best restaurant in all of the Mackinaw City, Indian River, Rogers City, Cheboygan triangle fo northeastern Michigan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location; Great teamwork.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was a little cool to dine outside, but our table inside had a great view of the river and marina. The food was well prepared and well presented. The staff was friendly and worked as a team. $5 bought a generous serving of the house red, which was very good. We don't always order dessert, but was enticed by their blackberry creme brulee', and it was worth the carbs and the calories. The chef has a good background, having worked at several excellent places, including Tapawingo with Pete Peterson. That experience is evident in the operation of this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier M33 On The Cheboygan also viewed

Cheboygan, Cheboygan County
Cheboygan, Cheboygan County
 
Cheboygan, Cheboygan County
Cheboygan, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Pier M33 On The Cheboygan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier M33 On The Cheboygan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.