We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually good food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gavel Restaurant & Lounge

Gavel Restaurant & Lounge
112 S Cochran Ave, Charlotte, MI 48813-1510
517-543-1620
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlotte, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Usually good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Gavel on the main street in Charlotte Michigan is one of the better restaurants in town, and probably the "fanciest". Typically the food is very good, and the service is usually good too, although we do have occasional sketchy to bad service, really dependent on the server, day of the week, phase of the moon, etc. Overall, though, our experience is generally good. I would highly recommend the Key West Chicken, either as a sandwich or as a dinner entree.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tilden, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food and great atmosphere. Very accommodating for serving 12 people. We were given great service. The menu had a variety of options. All of the people of our group were happy with their food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Was working in the area for a week and decided to try this place for breakfast, very happy with our first experience ! Food was good and it didn't break the bank! I would recommend this if your in the area

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

On a Thursday night met a friend: nice atmosphere, very good service. We had a large variety of food...potato skins were as good as I've ever had. Everything was homemade and no mushrooms in the lasagna :-) We saved room for very good chocolate cake. Will definitely go there again. Dinner, glass of wine and dessert for a little less than $20.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stopped in from out of town for a quick bite. The service was ok, but we did get our food in a very timely manner. It wasn't the best, but it wasn't the worst. I would give it a second try!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gavel Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Charlotte, Eaton County
Charlotte, Eaton County
 

Been to Gavel Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gavel Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.