We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Grey Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlevoix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Grey Gables
Save
You added Inn at Grey Gables to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   306 Belvedere Avenue, Charlevoix, MI 49720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Granville, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

From a first-time contributor to TripAdvisor

Phillip and Michael were great hosts for the weekend. They couldn't do enough for us! Michael made reservations for us at a great local restaurant. Phillip was always there for us with coffee, soda, whatever! The breakfasts were perfect and served right on time. The Inn was spotless. The location very good. The autumn weather in Charlevoix was perfect.

I'd give our weekend a 10, and the credit (except for the weather) goes to Michael and Phillip. "Thanks!" to everyone at the Inn at Grey Gables!

Craig Ziegler
Granville, Ohio

  • Liked — The innkeepers, Phillip and Micheal, were great.
  • Disliked — Non-en suite (but private) bath for our room. Most rooms have en suite bathrooms.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WARREN, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

Michael and Phillip are fabulous hosts. The beds are comfy. Bedtime cookies are great. Everything is very clean. The breakfast is fantastic....french toast made with apple pie bread, quiche, eggs benedict (yummy). The 5:00pm Wine and cheese hour always lasted way more than an hour. Definitely say yes to the wine!!! My stay at Grey Gables was beyond par. When I come back to Charlevoix there is no question that I will stay here again. ---Also, if you get a chance, take a drive up to the Traverse City winerys. It's about a 45-60 minute drive. It's alot of fun. I knew nothing about wine before I went. But after going on a tour and tasting, I learned a few things. Don't be intimidated, it's alot fun!!! Michael and Phillip can tell you where to go and how to get there. Petoskey is also another nice place to visit. It's about a 20-30 minute drive. There are plenty of boutiques and specialty shops. Go to Chandlers for lunch/dinner while your there. The food is great and the outdoor patio is excellent.

  • Liked — The location (5 min walk to main street) & The great service
  • Disliked — N\A
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

Within walking distance to downtown. Rooms were very nice. Furnishings throughout the house were quaint. What made the experience truly excellent, though, were the gracious hosts. There was a lovely wine and cheese reception, which we really enjoyed. The small touches, such as turning down the bed and leaving us homemade cookies were much appreciated. The quiche for breakfast and the coffee were fantastic. I highly recommend this inn and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

We visited during July 4th weekend, and I highly recommend. The owners are gracious and accomodating, and the house is very nice and comfortably furnished. It has a great wrap-around porch ideal for sitting and reading. The beds were comfortable, with high quality linens. As others have commented, the homemade hot breakfasts are very high quality. There's also a wine service in the evening, and a guest refreshment center with snacks, drinks, etc., so you will not want for food. You can walk to the heart of downtown in about five minutes, and there is ample off-street parking. The house is old, so the bathrooms are quite small, but immaculately clean.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

Quaint, romantic, wonderful accommodations with service that was over the top. The owners know what they are doing and do it well, from nightly turn down service with cookies, to constantly running around pouring coffee in the mornings. They even served eggs benedict one morning to all the guests! It is easy to see that this is their normal routine and it was very easy and enjoyable to stay at the Inn at Grey Gables.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

The Inn at Grey Gables is wonderful! We went for a long weekend for a skiing and winter rafting package they offered. It was great. The Inn is gorgeous and was just remodeled. The extensive website has a lot of photos but the rooms were even larger and more beautiful in real life. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. The mattress was the best I had ever slept on – even better than the Westin Heavenly Beds! The new owners were very attentive and friendly. They served individual breakfasts in the morning (a delicious quiche with sausage and homemade bread). The early evening wine and cheese in the large living room was enjoyable – most of the guests gathered to get to know each other and enjoy the simple hors d’oeuvres. But it was also very quiet and we had plenty of privacy. We went next door for a great meal at the Grey Gables Inn and then walked downtown for live entertainment at Whitney’s and The Weathervane. There was a nice range of guests, both older and younger couples and a businessman. All in all, a very enjoyable stay. If you’re looking for something a bit different than the chain motels or the older downtown condo-hotels (I’ve stayed at several of them), I can highly recommend the Inn!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2006

We just stayed at the Inn at Grey Gables and had a fantastic time. We arrived and were not even out of the car when Phillip and Michael, the innkeepers came outside to the car to take our bags in. Phillip and Michael went totally out of their way to make sure our stay was super. They scheduled spa appointments, dinner reservations and more. They held a wine and cheese party every night and had spectacular breakfasts. And my favorite, homemade cookies at bedtime. I would highly recommend this B&B when in the Charlevoix area. Phillip & Michael you are incredibly hospitable!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Grey Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Grey Gables

Address: 306 Belvedere Avenue, Charlevoix, MI 49720
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Grey Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Grey Gables is a refurbished 1887 Bed and Breakfast located within easy walking distance of downtown Charlevoix. We have seven beautifully decorated rooms with King or Queen beds, private baths, plush towels, and luxurious amenities. Each morning enjoy a full hot breakfast made with fresh ingredients and a gourmet twist. We offer wine and cheese platters in the evening, and turndown service with homemade cookies before bedtime. Also available is free wireless internet, a guest refreshment center, and 1 pet-friendly room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Grey Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.