We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A waterfront view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant

Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant
106 Pine River Ln, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1809
231-547-4311
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Detroit
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A waterfront view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

From inside the venue we had a wonderful full window view of Lake Charlevoix lift bridge. We ordered wine and Parmesan toast then read over the menu. We selected the cedar planked baked whitefish and the Cobb salad . We enjoyed the historic significance of this eatery as well !

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    78
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food with a wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Don't miss Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant! The Oak Plank Whitefish is listed at the top of the menu - no need to read any farther. It was superb! My kids, ages 9 and 6, were thrilled with the kids' meals they had, too. While there was a one-hour wait to sit outside, we waited only a few minutes for a table by the window where we could still watch boats and ships entering and exiting the harbor. The service was good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Beautiful location, good food, good service, Just not great. It's big, old, a little dated, nothing wrong, just cant say it's a must do

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great bar, horrible food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I will say that I've been going to Charlevoix every summer for over 20 years and did once have a good meal there... However this last tie my husband and I went for a date and had hands down the worst experience ever eating out in Charlevoix. The location is amazing, no doubt, and while we waited for a table we sat at the bar inside and the bartenders were very talented. However, we were quoted a 20 minute wait and waited close to 45 minutes. Then our server hardly paid attention to us and didn't know the menu well. We ordered a caprese salad and I truly wish I'd taken a picture as it was that ridiculous. It was a strip of romaine lettuce with sliced onions with two tomato slices and a tiny glob of mozzarella... Whoever made this atrocity should go to Terry's and see what a real Caprese salad looks like (hint: there's basil and no romaine/ onions). Also, I ordered the salmon special and it was dry/ over cooked. Won't be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
I first want to apologize for your experience. Please contact me at jeffs@staffords.com so that I can investigate further into your service and personally invite you and your husband back on me to experience what Stafford's has prided itself on for over fifty years. Great service, cuisine and atmosphere.

Jeff Sprecksell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Has always been solid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

From first there over 30+ years ago to our first return in all that time, still as solid as ever. Excellent local fish, but much more.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.