We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horton Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlevoix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horton Creek Inn
Save
You added Horton Creek Inn to your Saves list
5757 Boyne City Road, Charlevoix, MI 49720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Springview, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The beautiful, peaceful surroundings, the lovely log home, the beautifully decorated rooms, the friendly reception we received from Dave and Jeannie, the delicious breakfasts, the way our hosts went beyond necessity to make us comfortable and meet our needs, it all came together to make our stay a wonderful experience! If we ever get back to the area we will definitely stay here again. You can't go wrong by choosing Horton Creek Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2 month old's first stay at a B&B. What a great experience!! Beyond comfortable, extremely clean (we are picky) and just overall wonderful. The owners even held and entertained our little guy so we could enjoy the mouth watering breakfast. :-)
We stayed upstairs in the waterfoul room and it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first B&B experience, and it was everything we could've hoped for. Nice big house, very friendly owners, beautiful grounds, great breakfast, nice pool, complimentary beverages, evening snacks, and everything was super clean. When we arrived we relaxed around the pool for a bit, taking in the quiet surroundings. This place is like the Garden of Eden! Unlike staying at a hotel, where everyone tends to keep to themselves, we had some great conversations with other guests during breakfast and in the evening. If you like meeting new people, you will really enjoy this B&B. When we told other guests that this was our first time staying at a B&B, they said "they all aren't this nice". Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you want to stay in the heart of Hemingway country, forget Petoskey; this is it. Tell you why in a minute. Both Dave and Jeannie are excellent at how they make their B&B home for you. Dave's the magicman at the breakfast table. Read the other reviews on the fare. Stayed in the Garden Room. Great queen bed and wonderful views from the balcony. Bathroom had plenty of room but couldn't get into the shower from the wheelchair. Suggested they replace it with a slide-in bench deal.
Jeannie is an excellent baker; arriving back in the evening, expect a treat with tea or coffee.
Now the Hemingway kicker: on this very property lies what's left of the foundation of a cottage that is the setting for one of the best Nick Adams stories, "The The Three Day Blow". Rarely known and seldom visited, you must make the short hike into the woods and up to the ridge to see where Nick climbed the steps into the house. Bring the story with you and connect.
Horton Creek Inn is in the heart of Hemingway Country and this is the only place to stay if you want to visit the place where Hemingway remembered while writing away at the Closerie des Lilas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We just got back from Horton Creek Inn (June 2012). I would like to echo the other comments: room was clean and nicely decorated, the grounds were beautiful, the breakfast was fabulous (eggs benedict one morning, strawberry stuffed french toast the other, fresh fruit to start both days), and the house is lovely. The owners were friendly and available but not "too intrusive." We had absolutely no complaints! The Inn is located between Boyne City & Charlevoix and not too far from Petoskey. Ideal for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST. CLAIR, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Horton Creek Inn the week after Christmas. It is one of the most beautiful places you will find in Michigan. The Bed and Breakfast is situated on approximately 60 acres of a beautiful plot of land made up of many evergreens. Although the weather was not permitting on out stay, there are many trails that one can walk during the warm seasons, or snow shoe during the snow season. The rooms were quiet, and absolutely spectacular. The home, which is absolutely huge, is wood framed with several fireplaces. There are several rooms to choose from, with different pricing. They have a wonderful jucuzzi room in the lower level, which attaches to a wonderful reading and visiting room with a fire place. Perfect on a cold winter night.
Breakfast was also wonderful. It is served in a breakfast nook overlooking the back of the property. We were served a carmal french toast specialty, which was again wonderful. The hosts were kind, soft spoken, and there only when you wanted them to be. A great stay, and one that I would highly recommend.

I would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: They are all very nice. The owners allow you to view and check them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

One of the nicer Bed & Breakfasts we have visited. Our hosts, Dave & Jeannie, were very gracious and accomodating. We especially liked having coffee, soft drinks, and yummy desserts when coming back in the evening. Their home is warm and cozy. The view of the woods is both beautiful and inspiring. We hope to visit again when traveling "up north".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horton Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horton Creek Inn

Address: 5757 Boyne City Road, Charlevoix, MI 49720
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horton Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.