We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lakes Treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlevoix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Edgewater Inn
Save
You added The Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
100 Michigan Avenue, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlevoix, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Lakes Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I spent the evening in a condominium suite at this hotel to celebrate my birthday. The suite (#343) had been totally redecorated and was beautiful. The view of Round Lake and the downtown area was outstanding. We sat on the balcony until late in the evening because the scene was so beautiful. The hotel is right on the edge of the downtown area and only a block from a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. There are more than a dozen restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely return to this hotel even though our condominium is only two blocks away.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
29
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We were in Charlevoix for our daughter's wedding and most of our family and friends stayed here. Previously we stayed in a 2br condo but this time we chose a 1br condo for just my husband and myself. I really liked having the spacious living area when family stopped by. Since these are individually owned condo's, they are all decorated differently but all still kept to a high standard and all have free wireless internet. The unit we chose (229) is beautiful with updated colors and a granite countertop and a very comfortable bed. We loved this unit. We were right on the water and even though some of the days were quite cool, I really liked having the balcony. I want to come back in the summer and fully enjoy everything Charlevoix has to offer and when we do, we'll choose The Edgewater and this unit as well. We did look at many of the units our family and friends had and although they were all decorated different, they were all in great condition. Kudos also to the front desk staff for being so helpful and the cleaning staff for a wonderful job. Thank you!!!!!
The fitness center only has four machines...bike, eliptical, stairmaster and treadmill. We did use them and they were in good working condition.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyhour34
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The hotel staff was helpful, the room was clean, the view was gorgeous, the location was perfect. We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly be back. This is THE place to stay when visiting Charlevoix. Everything is within a short, scenic walk from the hotel. Restaurants, shopping, biking, beaches, marina... it's all right there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Lynelle and I are from the area but havent been around for awile. Our nite there was perfectly romantic and satisfying.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Nice, clean, condo-style hotel close to everything. Our family rented several rooms here last summer and we are returning this summer. Rooms vary in style/decor depending on owners' tastes, yet all were well-maintained. Not fancy, but clean and cozy. Nice indoor/outdoor pool, full view of harbor.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

Well we got married at castle farms we wanted to stay at weather vane but hotel was full due to a NRA convention. So our second choice was the edge water inn which is a condo like atmostphere. We booked 15 rooms for the wedding party,family and friends. The first night was ok other than the rude staff but we just blew it off. The next day was our wedding day so we weren't at the hotel much except for the morning. After our wedding and reception we went out for a while with our family and friends after that we went back to our hotel got out of our taxi and were greeted outside by the rudes night manager he started yelling at my family, friends and my wife. He said were being to loud the fact of the matter is we weren't by any means. So i told him that i would take care of it. Well we went inside and my wife and i went to our room i started to change and she said that she was going to get some ice and she was going to say good night to her parents. Well about 5 min later there was a knock at our door so i opened it and there is my wife balling she comes in and tells me that she was getting ice and talking to her aunt and uncle at the ice machine and the night manager was hiding under a flight of stairs needless to say he started to yell at them saying this is by far the worst wedding party that has ever stayed at this hotel. This made me very upset so i went down to the front desk and came unglued on the guy the whole time he just had a smug grin on his face saying he wasn't wrong in what he did..... Finally the next morning came i talked to the real manager and he said he stands behind his night manager in what and how he handled the situation. To sum up the overall stay it was horrible my family is a upper class family and told me the worst part of our wedding was the hotel. There for i would never suggest staying at this hole in the wall hotel i know we never will again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everthing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

We usually travel south,east or north. We've never been to northern Lake Michigan and what a surprise! We stayed at the Edgewater since it had a balcony which looked out over water plus close to a small town with some nice restaurants and shopping. The Edgewater is made up of condo apts. (all quite different) that at first sight looked like a motel but once inside, it was great. Nicely furnished, bright open concept kitchen,dining and livingroom plus spacious bedroom and semi-ensuite bathroom. Two TVs (livingroom & bdrm). The balcony overlooks the coming and going of yachts, ferries, cabin cruisers & kayaks to and from Lake Michigan & Lake Charlevoix. There is a great view of the central part of town and marina. Our room also overlooked the small pool of the Inn. We were located across the road with a underpass walkway to Lake Huron for sunset watching and swimming at the public beach. Also across the road, we had dinner on the deck of the Weathervane Restaurant ( try the whitefish cakes as an appetizer!). The town of Charlevoix has many historic grand summer homes and the start of the 26 mile bike trail through Petoskey (another great small town-try Chandlers for lunch then Bayview (Historic and Culural hideaway with Classical Music everywhere) to the dunes at Petoskey State Park and finish at the charming town of Harbor Springs. All in all, a very pleasant surprise!!!!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Address: 100 Michigan Avenue, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1803
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix
Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.