We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Riviera on Lake Michigan called Charlevoix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointes North Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pointes North Inn to your Saves list
Pointes North Inn
101 Michigan Avenue, Charlevoix, MI 49720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“French Riviera on Lake Michigan called Charlevoix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Charlevoix Michigan is a real nice place where Pointes North Inn invites guests with a clean loft bedroom, a balcony overlooking an harbor,
a real nice kitchen/dining area and plenty of room for sleeping. A Continental Breakfast will start your day. Indoor/outdoor pool will cool your tired body after a day of shopping in little boutiques. After a five and a half hour drive from a Chicago suburb, Jaccuzzi was a great addition to soothe your tired body. Other quaint towns are close by if you wish to drive along Lake Michigan.
Only drawback was the ringing of the alarm
every time the bridge had to go up for tall ships going by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Perhaps I should have read the other reviews more closely but I was extremely disappointed with this place.

The location is good as well as bad. it is right next to the drawbridge in the middle of town (good) but the windows to the main rooms face out onto the main road through town with no real wall/ hedge of any sort between you and the walkway. This results in you having to have the blinds drawn most of the time and the living room being extremely noisy. This is the one room with any light or view whatsoever (the weathervane is next door and most of the rooms have balconies that are raised up with views of the town).

The main sleeping area is located at the rear of the property with a corridor and entrance hallway behind it! This makes it impossible to sleep at night as people are coming and going all the time slamming doors. In fact the bedrooms have a window to the corridor which is extremely odd, can't imagine anyone wanting to have their window blinds open with people being able to see directly into the room. If the people in the corridor outside were not bad enough the air con unit for the bedroom itself is awfully loud making it impossible to sleep anyway.

The pool area is dirty and tired, part of the pool is in the property and part outside with a small tunnel to swim through between them. The wood around this tunnel has rotted away. In addition the outside are is basically next to the road and the walkway so if you are sitting outside people are constantly walking right by you.

They also advertise the place as having jacuzzis in every suite but this is not true as they have converted some to disabled which is basically a massive dark wet room with a shower. Whatever you do, dont have any of the suites numbered from 1-4 as these are right next to the entrance door.

Really awful time here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, MI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this condo through our exchange program. pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, nice kitchenette, king sized bed and gas fireplace. Nice patio, but due to winter didn't use, nice wall of windows to look out at the snow!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay. My daughter and I planned a short trip (2 nights) to Charlevoix in the winter. We found this location to be perfect and it met our requirements. Although many of the shops are closed until spring, we were still able to visit some of our favorite spots. Our room was large, clean and very warmly furnished. This room had a mini-kitchen which was stocked with enough pots, pans and cooking utensils to make it possible to eat-in. Although we didn't take advantage of it, there was a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There is also an inside pool. The only downside to the pool was that it was only available during office hours. Once the office was closed, you didn't have access to the pool. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found this place on the Internet, but were not actually looking to go anywhere at the time. We are so glad we did! Our check-in was smooth. This is a two-story building, but it does have an elevator. We were in room 212 - the furthest room to the back of the building on the 2nd floor. It was very quiet and was right next door to the coin-operated laundry room (a plus). Our unit was very clean and very comfortable - separate bedroom, full kitchen with adjoining living room. It had a large bathroom with a jetted tub, separate toilet room & a shower stall. There were plenty of towels for our one week stay, however there were NO towel bars or anywhere to put them once they were wet (if you wanted to use them again). Our only complaints are the lack of towel bars and no direct light over the kitchen area. There is a very large light fixture in the center of the living area, but it does not light the kitchen very well. We loved the granite counters and the very large counter with stove top and four large bar stool height chairs. This was January, so we couldn't use the lovely balcony that looked toward downtown & the bridge, but it was still nice to be able to look out from the living room. It was right next to a busy street, but for us, that was no problem. The bedroom had a king-sized bed and a nice size closet. The only problem was that there was no "dresser" space - we had to keep all but our "hang-ups" in our suitcases. There also was a nice (especially in the winter) electric fireplace. The living room also had a nice flat-screen TV with DVD player, and the bedroom also had a flat screen TV on the wall. There also was an indoor/outdoor pool that we did not have a chance to use. We had a wonderful time and would definitely look forward to staying here again! Forgot to mention - the location is fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfiled hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a fun filled getaway in Traverse City for New Years, my wife and I decided to travel north to Charleviox MI. We did not have to be back at work for a week and didn't want the trip to end. We stumbled upon Pointes North Inn after driving through the city. We also drove through Petosky and decided to stay at Pointes North Inn right by the Bay.

This is not a common hotel chain, far from it. Each room (condo) are privatley owned and have a flare unique to the specific owner. Almost a full kitchen with a large living area separate from the bedroom are perfect for a family or like us...two people that want to get away but still feel at home. The bathroom has a 4 jet- two person ;) tub and separte shower. The two bedroom units have two full baths with the jetted tub in the loft bedroom. The staff keeps the rooms immaculatley clean and are very small town friendly. A pleasure to be around but nonintrusive.

We plan on bringing the the kids back up during the summer as there is much more to do being surrounded by water and 3 public beaches.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units have more ammenities with the same square footage on the lower level. The lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed over the Christmas holiday and the office staff was great about accommodating our holiday check in. Our kitchenette was a great convenience. Our biggest issue was with the ants that were in various locations throughout the room. Ants traps were in the kitchen so we were immediately aware that there had been a problem. They were most obvious on the white tile floor in the bathroom. When i spoke with the desk staff they were aware that there had been a problem and had even had the "bug guys" in the previous week. They were surprised that there was still an issue. As our visit continued the ants were found in our bed and our luggage. We even had one make it home with us. I again told the office staff when I checked out and was told that the owner would be notified. But as a customer I had expected more of a response. Quite disappointed. Ants in December and in my bed and luggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointes North Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Inn

Address: 101 Michigan Avenue, Charlevoix, MI 49720
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pointes North Inn condominium hotel suites are conveniently located in charming Downtown Charlevoix just north of the drawbridge and just steps away from shopping, restaurants and beaches. Whether your stay is for a night, a week or more, Pointes North Inn condominium suites will make it that much sweeter. Pointes North Inn offers: One bedroom condominium suite with private screened in patio porch. Two bedroom condominium suite with loft and private balcony Jacuzzi and sofa beds in every hotel room Kitchenette or full kitchen Fireplace and wide screen TV and VCR/DVD Indoor / Outdoor heated pool Daily & weekly condominium hotel suite rentals Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pointes North Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Charlevoix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointes North Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.