We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent pastry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe

Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe
115 Bridge Street, Charlevoix, MI
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“excellent pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

visited simonsens june 15 looking for some good coffee and some sweets. from the time we walked in the door we felt very comfortable. employees were very pleasant and answered any questions we had regarding their pastries. you will find it very hard to make a decision about what to order here because everything looks sooooo good. would return if by this way again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Changed my Opinion of Eggs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Amazing bakery and cafe... I hate eggs, but was feeling adventurous and ate the quiche- what have I been missing my whole life? Great pastries too- the sticky bun was amazing. Great outside seating. Great place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprised they made it thru the winter...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I ate here and ordered a Greek salad. The dressing was wish bone italian, really? No iced tea and no bread to go with the salad. That was my only and last visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Summer Treat / Closed In The Winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

You will love the pastries and the coffee is good as well. I have only eaten breakfast here but have found it to be consistently good. Nice location right on main street across from the waterside park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had heavenly chicken pot pie, which also came with a small salad on the side of the plate which was perfect. There were fresh vegetables, tender chicken and a dreamy creamy French sauce with pastry on the bottom and puff pastry on top. A professionally trained chef and it shows.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.