We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwiches and Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe

Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe
115 Bridge Street, Charlevoix, MI
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Nashville
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches and Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location on the main drag can't be beat. I loved the bruschetta; and the salad that accompanied the sandwiches and wraps was fresh and good. I had the crab salad wrap. It was deliciously seasoned. The croutons added in the wrap worked my nerves a bit but the mangos made up for them. Service is quirky and they don't seem to know the difference between an iced mocha and an iced coffee, but they were a pleasant bunch of servers (everyone seemed to service your table at one time or another). Charlevoix is a cute walking town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice for a quick breakfast in downtown Charlevoix. Pleasant but not fancy interior with table outside as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Waste of time/money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The owner seemed so annoyed that I considered ordering something he'd have to make that I changed my order to get a pastry. They had a coffee bar, but when my wife ordered coffee they poured it from a carafe from behind the register. The pastries were fine, but nothing special. Considering the owner's pedigree (he has certificates on the wall from Le Gordon Bleu in Paris), I was expecting something more.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Limited, small and expensive breakfast, but it was great. Sandwiches were much better. Nice place to go to.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Food i good but service is quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have tried several times but for some reason there seems to be confusion as to who serves who and the result is you don't get served. It is right on the main street in a good location. The breakfast was worth the confusion.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonsen's Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.