We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grey Gables Inn Restaurant

The Grey Gables Inn Restaurant
308 Belvedere Avenue, Charlevoix, MI 49720
231-547-9261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grey Gables Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US 31
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Quaint Victorian building with excellent food. I think our waiter was new, but we all have to start somewhere.....It was all good. Food, service, ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great experience every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent and consistent food quality, especially the whitefish (try it stuffed, with sun dried tomato pesto - superb)... great creme brulee... courteous and attentive staff. Make plans to eat here... we do every time we visit the area, and are never disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Once a Victorian home - now restaurant - nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The bar area was packed for their weekly Tuesday night $7.00 burger and beer. We were seated in the cozy dining area since we were ordering off the menu. They always bring a basket of scones/bread to enjoy before your entree arrives and the scones are outstanding. My strip steak was tender and delicious served with new potatoes and fresh cooked spinach. My husband enjoyed his whitefish served with a gulf shrimp stuffing. Everything was seasoned well. Our favorite dessert there is the Sanders hot fudge cream puff - big enough for two to share. If you visit in the summer, GG's is well know for their prime rib - always a good choice. Also, had excellent service from one of the waitstaff - Peter

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Years dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had early reservation on New Years Eve. Peter was our server. Very friendly,efficient and fun. Very good appetizers, Charlevoix Caviar and Lobster Mac & cheese. Very well dressed Caesar, my wife had excellant beet salad. Duck & scallops for entrees were very good as well. Desert looked outstanding, no room tonight. For an evening with a packed house the service and food was outstanding. Serving timing was spot on, hot food, well prepared and presented. Memorable dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Grey Gables restaurant is in an old house in Charlevoix. The food presentation and the food is excellent. Selections are great and some that you don't find in your everyday establishment. It's worth a trip if your in town.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grey Gables Inn Restaurant also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to The Grey Gables Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grey Gables Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.