We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
111 Pine River Lane, Charlevoix, MI 49720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

This was our first time at the Weatervane, and it will be out last. Our building did not have an elevator, and the closest set of stairs to our second floor room were circular and located in a turret! Needless to say, it was very difficult navigating our way up the narraow passage while toting luggage and various travel items. The turret itself was very dirty with lots of dead bugs and spider webs. The hotel would do well to take a broom to this area on a daily basis. The only ice machine was located in the main hotel building, which neccesitated additional trips down and up the dirty staircase, followed by a trek accross the parking lot to the breakfast room. Once there, we were never sure if the dispensed ice would be whole or partially melted. The hotel does not have enough parking spaces for the number of rooms it rents. Consequently, we were forced to park in the adjacent restaurant lot. There is a large "EXIT" sign in the parking lot, but whatever you do, don't follow that! The exit was blocked by parked cars! The pool and hot tub closed at 9:00 pm when we were there, due to the fireworks display in town. Prior notice of this would have been appreciated, as we packed towels and swim suits anticipating a relaxing evening in the hot tub. Our room was adequate once we evicted the mosquitoes, ants and spiders that had moved in prior to our arrival. The family we traveled with rented a patio room, which would have been lovely had there not been animal feces on the grass adjacent to the patio, as well as various spider webs on the doorwall. This same family received no maid service in their room, and was offiered a mere 10% discount by the manager for their inconvience. They had also requested a suite, but were given one room with 2 queen beds and a kitchenette area. Overall, we did not feel we received a good value for our money and will definitely stay elsewhere next year. The only positive comment I can write about this hotel is that it has a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    73
    36
    14
    13
See reviews for
91
156
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We always stay here when we come to charlevoix in the summertime and for those that haven't been here before, its by far the best location (1 minute walk to beach, 3 minute walk across bridge to downtown shops/restaurants). They have a great continental breakfast, pool is very nice and I think they just replaced the hot tub because it all looks brand new. Kids always have a blast staying here as do we. Its very clean and the standard rooms we use are great! A++++

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
priggio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We've stayed at the Weathervane for several years, but this year seemed to be a turn off. The rooms seem to be getting tired, we didn't have maid service or get clean towels (had to ask for them), the bathroom had hairs from someone else upon our arrival (on floor, in towels, on shower walls), a lot of bugs in the room, and not enough parking spaces to accomodate all their rooms. The best thing they have going for them is their location. We'll be looking elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

After making our reservation, we were apprehensive about the Hotel because it was an old hotel. We figured it would be run down and dirty, but we were pleasantly surprised. It was very clean and the desk was helpful. Our only downfall was after the first day, housekeeping did not replenish the towels and forgot to replentish sugar/creamer for our coffee in the room. I also called and asked if my pillow case without the pillow could be shipped to me because I had left them in the room...They said yes, right away, but hasn't been done...That is okay but I do not have my set anymore. Just don't leave anything behind. The area was beautiful and I would definitely go back, but be more observant next time..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

In July, 2009, we made our second visit to the Weathervane Terrace Inn for a 3-day stay; it was just as enjoyable as the first. I know Charlevoix and the area well, since I grew up in NW Michigan and have many family there; thus I find much to do all around the area. We've stayed in many places in Charlevoix, and this is the best! A Lake Michigan Suite, with its balcony, view of Lake Michigan, full kitchen, living room, wood-burning fireplace, comfortable chairs and sofa, separate bedroom, is my idea of vacation comfort! People come from all around to watch the sunsets over Lake Michigan, which can be seen from the balconies. Just a short walk out the door, is a lovely little city park, with stairs down to a bit of lovely public sandy beach. Walk another direction, and there are two piers out into Lake Michigan that you can stroll on, one with a lighthouse at the end. One can amble to another bigger public beach with slides and things for children or one can go into the charming downtown of Charlevoix, full of interesting places to eat and shop. Right on site is the Weathervane Restaurant, with its outdoor eating area overlooking the channel between Lake Michigan and Round Lake and the drawbridge, which in summer, goes up every half hour to let the big sailboats through, as well as the Beaver Island Ferry. There are concerts in the waterfront downtown park during the summer. Walk a bit further and you can take the "Earl Young Mushroom House" tour, fascinating stone houses, often with wavy roofs, that look like a hobbit village. Worth a visit by car (convenient parking very close to units) is possibly the best thrift shop I've been in, The Rainbow Shop, run by a joint effort of all of the Charlevoix churches: quality merchandise of all types, well displayed, very fair prices, in a large, roomy building,
The staff at the Weathervane Terrace Inn is very friendly, cheery, and accommodating, from the maintenance man who came promptly to fix a balky sliding screen door to the maid service to the front desk; they must all take their "smile" tablets every morning! Coming from a big city, it is delightful and refreshing to be with staff who really seem to care about one's comfort.
My only real criticism is that an accommodation of that size should have more than ONE ice machine; it is a long walk from the most expensive suites to the ice machine off the entrance lobby.
Morning coffee (from the well-equipped kitchen in suite) on the balcony, to afternoon cocktail overlooking Lake Michigan, to a fire in the fireplace (artificial log provided each day) as the evening turns chilly after watching the glorious sunsets made us happy campers in Charlevoix.
The Weathervane's website reservation service has good room prices.
We had hoped to return for our 50th wedding anniversary, but, alas, the inn is fully booked August 15 -- should have booked earlier!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

After reading the other reviews, we were felt conident about the accomodations we had chosen. Especially after hearing the rate of $199 per night.
It was not a bad stay by any means, but the room was a bit of a let down. It was our first visit to the area, and we will be back. Beautiful scenery, and great shops and good restaurants.
The bedroom and bathroom were very small. The hotel seems to be old and has a bit of wear and tear. I'm not sure what the other choices are and how they would compare but we were just disappointed in what we got for the price.
So, it's all relative....this suite in Naples, Florida would not be acceptable, but maybe in this area it is??

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We found everything about our stay enjoyable, especially the friendliness of the staff. The hotel is only steps (maybe about 200) from Lake Michigan which we could see from our balcony. Spending time there in the afternoon with a cocktail provided a nice end to busy day. The town does not have alot of activities, but we did not go there for that. If we visit Michigan again, this stop will definitely be on our agenda.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Address: 111 Pine River Lane, Charlevoix, MI 49720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Terrace Hotel Charlevoix
Weathervane Terrace Charlevoix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.