We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlevoix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast
109 Petoskey Ave., Charlevoix, MI 49720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
l
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband & I stayed here while in town for the Charlevoix half marathon. Very clean, quiet & comfortable. Steve was very accomodating to the runners that were staying there the (early!) morning of the race. He had to go cups out with the coffee as well as fruit, bagels & peanut butter.

Location is great! A very short walk to the beach as well as the downtown area. Steve also provided us with directions to bike from the house to the bike path that wraps around Lake Michigan to Petoskey.

The Sunday morning breakfast is FANTASTIC!! Stuffed blueberry french toast, homemade granola, fruit & my husbands favorite...candied bacon! He still talks about it:)

Overall, we had a very positive experience with the MacDougall house & will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve b, Owner at MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We owned the MacDougall House for 20 years. In December, we sold our Bed and Breakfast to a couple of nice people, Armand and Michelle. We are no longer owners of the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Steve really goes all out with his breakfasts! He takes the time with his guests to be sure they are comfortable and know the area. The B&B has a good location, near the downtown area with lots of places to shop, eat....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a very nice stay at this bed and breakfast, our first time staying at one and it was quite a pleasure! Close enough to town so could walk in, breakfast was delicious and Steve was very hospitable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Never having stayed at a Bed and Breakfast I was not sure what to expect. From the moment you enter, the feeling of warmth and love is present everywhere. Steve and Sandra treat you like you are their own favorite relative. It could not be more welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean, and cozy. The breakfast is fabulous and any dietary needs will be taken in to consideration. The granola is amazing and the bacon...wow, even for the vegetarians. They will be converted for the week-end.
This is now my favorite destination when visiting Charlevoix. Give it a try, you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I cannot begin to say how wonderful our stay at the MacDougall House was. We were in Charlevoix for a family wedding and quickly realized what a gem we found when we checked in. From the comfortable rooms, to the outstanding and delicious breakfast to the endless supply of tea and shortbread, it felt like we were staying with family. We joked and said that now we have a house in Charlevoix with Steve to cook our breakfast! I can't wait to go back next year and have already reserved a week.

Room Tip: Any room because they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding at Castle Farms, and Steve couldn't be more accommodating, warm and helpful. The B and B was clean, comfortable, and cozy, and such a terrific deal for the money. Each morning we were greeted with a massive breakfast full of homemade treats, including Steve's homemade granola and wonderful concoctions that he cooked up that morning (the smell of which wafted up to the rooms and made a great start for the day.) Tea, coffee and fresh, warm Scottish shortbread greeted guests at all times of the day and was a particularly nice way to close out the evening. Our entire family rented out the place, so it was a wonderful way to spend time together but also have our separate spaces, since each room had its own well-appointed bath. The B and B was very well located, walking distance to downtown Charlevoix and a few steps away from a secluded, near-private entry to the pristine waters of Lake Michigan. The rooms are neat and clean, the beds comfy and there are window air-conditioners should guests need them. Steve was also very accommodating to our two youngest guests (6 months and 1.5 years)--high chair and patience provided with a smile! We would highly recommend this B and B for short or long stays in Charlevoix. Thanks again, Steve, for a great stay! We hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a great time at the MacDougal House. Comfortable and spacious accommodations with friendly hosts. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts with great gluten free pancakes, home made granola, yogurt, fruit, and local bacon cooked with a honey glaze. Excellent company at the breakfast table too. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 109 Petoskey Ave., Charlevoix, MI 49720
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are three houses from Lake Michigan and just a few blocks from lake Charlevoix, three blocks from the downtown business district. Our home was built in 1896, and has all the charm of a restored house that old. We have 5 rooms all with private in room baths and we serve a full breakfast family style. Additionally we have a two-room suite with a full bath, All rooms have cable TV, wifi, and air. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MacDougall House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list