We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean safe and cheap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3933 Lotz Road, Canton, MI 48188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Canton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean safe and cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The rooms were clean, nice area, and very reasonably prices! The night clerk was super friendly. Made us welcome after drive hours through blizzard conditions. Breakfast had 4 mini waffles instead of one. Yummy!
The heater worked really well. Low water pressure in shower. Bummer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Roberthill3

Thank you for selecting the Super 8 Canton for your stay in the area.

We are glad that our staff provided you with excellent service during your stay. And you enjoyed our waffle and other selections that we provide. We truly want each and every guest to experience our "Hometown Hospitality!"
We look forward to having you back with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
17
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a spur of the moment decision probably first time ever not reviewing the hotel before booking it. The price was excellent on Expedia.ca couldn't pass it up. The hotel is right off the highway next to a few gas stations, McDonald's & Arby's, very clean looking from the outside. Hotel says it is smoke-free but smelled of smoke throughout the hallways. I always bring air freshener so no big deal in our room. The front desk lady was super cheerful & great on giving directions to shopping in the area. Out room was on the 3rd floor, we heard no other guests even though the place was packed, fridge, microwave, safe, hair dryer was all in the room. The tv had plenty of channels, water pressure was good & bathroom was clean. The hallways, doors, carpet just looked a bit outdated. Looked like they added a new sprinkler system throughout the building. Would stay here again, bed was comfy, no noise from highway traffic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Picture_Perch

Thank you for selecting the Super 8 Canton, MI for your stay in the area.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for your comments and please know that while all hotel rooms in the State of Michigan are non-smoking, some guests unfortunately are either unaware of the law or they choose to ignore it. Please know that we do our very best when this happens to eliminate the odor. We will speak with housekeeping and our janitorial supply company to see if we can do something different in rooms that was smoked in, so that this can be avoided in the future. It is important to us that each and every guest enjoys their stay.

We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you on a return visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was in Ann Arbor for the winter classic. The weather was terrible and traffic disgusting on the way back to Canada, decided to call hotels to look for somewhere to stay to carry on the drive home the next day. A friendly lady answered the phone and she said she had just the room for me. Awesome. Found the exit off the highway easily (there's a huge super 8 sign you can see for miles).
Lady at check in was very friendly and quick to get us checked in. Perfect 24 hour McDonald's located next door. Room was clean, elevator could have used some upgrading but didn't bother me I used the stairs.
All in all I was impressed with this hotel and would stay here again if I was ever in the
area!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear BMFromCanada

Thank you for selecting the Super 8 Canton for your stay in the area.

We are glad that our staff provided you with excellent service during your stay. We truly want each and every guest to experience our "Hometown Hospitality!"

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here for a week while visiting friends and family. Everyone on the staff was friendly and pleasant. The room was clean. Everything was in working order. This hotel however is very outdated. This wouldn't normally bother me, but some of the issues from it being outdated were scary. The electrical outlets, for example, desperately need replacing. If you plug something in all the way, it doesn't work. You have to have things slightly out of the outlets for them to work. Had to reset both the outlet and the hair dryer in the bathroom. TV was old, but functional. Wall unit heaters worked very well (I stayed during the coldest week of the winter this far.) With a little bit of renovation, this hotel would be 100% better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear E911Angel
Thank you for selecting the Super 8 Canton for your stay in the area.

It is so rewarding to read that you had a terrific stay with us and thank you for your comments.
I'm so pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean, and our staff professional. We strive to create a warm feeling "Home away from home" environment for each of our guests!
We are changing all of our not working outlet right now and about the TVs we have ordered 40inch flat screen TVs they will be arriving by end of January of 2014.

Once again, thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area

Address: 3933 Lotz Road, Canton, MI 48188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Super Eight
Canton Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Canton/Livonia Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.