We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5700 N Haggerty Rd., Canton, MI 48187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Goshen, New York
1 review
“Great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the closest hotel available in the Detroit metro area one night when a flight.delay made it necessary to spend the night. The room was small, adequate and clean, but access to the rooms was down long outside corridors - a little spooky and confusing.
The staff, however, and in particular Izak at the front desk, made a bad situation much better. A shuttle full of travelers arrived near midnight - and we were greeted by name! We were all quickly checked in, and though the food area was closed Izak got something to eat for me and another traveler! When I had trouble finding my room, Izak commandeered another staff member to escort me.
Complimentary breakfast in the morning even had two kinds of real fruit! And it was ready early so that we could eat before our early shuttle back to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    22
    12
    20
See reviews for
23
20
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had such a great experience with staying at this location. VERY clean and great location. Love that is has so many options to eat near by. staff was EXTREMELY polite and helpful. Front desk clerk Katie went out of her way to get several map-quest directions for us. I will 100% stay here next time i come in the area

Room Tip: 3rd floor has in door entrences as the 1st and 2nd are exterior entrences !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

First the bad-the rooms are a little bit dated. The good-they serve breakfast and dinner, the cost is good staff is extremely friendly led by GM Nader Judeh. The rooms are clean and comfortable, beds are good. They have 3 separate wireless connections which is great. Location is great with easy access to 275, 94,96 and 696 with tons of shopping, restaurants and entertainment nearby

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

When you check on the street view pictures the hotel is not shown! You only see the Comfort Suites Hotel!

The Fairfield Inn is an old-style motel with outside hallway. The rooms are small, this goes for the bathroom, too. Doors don't really fit into their frames any more, at first I thought the keycard was not working but you had to throw your full weight against the door in order to push it open.

One of our group was locked in the bathroom because of a broken lock. It took them one hour and three man to open the door. Telling from the scratches on the frame this wasn't the first incident with this bathroom, also one of the maintenance guys insisted that something like this was never reported before. We had to ask for a compensation ourselves, front desk just would have done nothing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in the Fairfield Inn at Canton for 4 weeks while on a business trip to Michigan. I booked a room on the Spa package.

The hotel is located on the Ford road and is just next to the Ikea on the Haggerty road.

The rooms were decent. The breakfast was decent and there were many dining options nearby- including Buffalo Wild Wings, Potbelly and an Indian restaurant.
The AC was a bit loud for my comfort and sometimes, I would wake up when it kicked in with a thud.

There was a pool which was decent. There is a small gym as well- however, it has very limited accessories.

The manager Nader was a very friendly guy and he ordered some great Mediterranean fare for me the day I was checking out!

My work might bring me back to west Detroit/ Canton area again and I plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice breakfast with a decent variety. Room was clean and well furnished. Room was quiet though it is close to highways. Never even heard the storm that passed through! T.V. viewing was an issue as you have to select and go through menu every time you want to change channels. Not the hotel's fault as I think this is a Direct TV feature. Comfortable beds, amiable staff that responded to needs for extras rather fast. Enjoyed the outdoor pool as it was in the 90's. Our only recommendations are that because the entry way was a bit dirty (moths and bugs attracted to the lights) when we arrived, the front desk staff should watch it. However, we did arrive after dark and noticed it was cleaned by the next morning. As well as a little dust hiding on framed pictures and trim (just nit picking really) Overall, we liked the place and felt we got a good deal. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked to have a room on the 3rd floor as it was enclosed and we had small children. The first two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska City, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

3day vacation--This was a nice place to share precious moments with family from all over the country. Rooms nice,clean. Front desk workers were very friendly,housekeeping was very helpful,and management was willing to let us host at the hotel facilities. The baking of cookies everyday was a treat to look forward to. Front desk worker Izak was more than respectable and helpful. Enjoyed short stay,would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton

Address: 5700 N Haggerty Rd., Canton, MI 48187
Location: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton Hotel Canton
Canton Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Canton
Fairfield Canton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Detroit West / Canton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.