We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is above average except the sushi!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Sushi Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O'Sushi Restaurant
42408 Ford Rd, Canton, MI 48187-3337
734-981-4166
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 139 Restaurants in Canton
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Takeout
Lake Leelanau, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Everything is above average except the sushi!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This restaurant is a little hole in the wall in a strip shopping mall. Ambiance is not the restaurant's strong point, which would have been just fine as many sushi restaurants fit the "hole in the wall" description. Unfortunately, the sushi was just average. The individual pieces were a bit small, the rice was bit dry and the sushi was too. All in all, it was acceptable, but nothing special.

The other dishes we had, however, were very good. The miso soup was excellent. My wife had the vegetable tempura and it was also excellent, with the batter being thin and flaky. The fried pot stickers (gyoza) were definitely above average.

So, this was a bit of a strange experience - a sushi restaurant where the sushi was the least desirable item on the menu! By the way, I do commend the service. The waiter and waitress we had were very accommodating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Craving Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't judge a book by it's cover, it's a dive, but the sushi... is great! It was fast, fresh, and friendly. If you love spicy, try Kiss of Fire!!! Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not as spectacular as some have reviewed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I travel a great deal, and have been to the most expensive and out of the way Sushi Restaurants. O'Sushi is average. If you have not had sushi much, this would be a very good spot, as it is fresh and acceptable. The price is average to a little high for what you get, but that is to be expected in the Midwest as you have to have everything flown in. The service is good, and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sushi is Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This business has gotten rave reviews in the past, we went to compare and found it so-so. Fresh fish is a must, which they had, but you can only do so much with it. I've had shashimi all over the orient and the Marianas. The food is nothing special here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, Fresh Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is my go-to place for sushi when I'm on my own.

The place is fairly small, about a dozen tables. There's a couple of nice and friendly waitresses.

I'm not one for fancy rolls. I think putting cream cheese in a sushi roll should be a crime. The majority of what I eat is nigiri, the slices of fish sitting on a handful of rice, or sashimi, slices of fish by themselves.

The octopus is tender, which is good because it's cooked and too easy to overcook. The raw fish I've had - salmon, tuna, yellowtail, snapper, and probably more, depending on what's best in season - have always been fresh and full of good flavor. It's trivially easy for me to spend more than I should here, because the fish is so good.

I've had little of their other food. Their edamame is good, which is to say, well steamed, and the seaweed salad is tasty. You do not get soup and salad for free unless you order a specific dinner plate or combo, and that's fine. The basic soup and salad are nothing special.

For those who don't get the name, Japanese O' is a signl of politeness. It's not an Irish spelling, it's a way of politely naming the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Sushi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to O'Sushi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Sushi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.