We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels unsafe and is dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   41216 Ford Rd, Canton, MI 48187 (Formerly Motel 6 Detroit West - Canton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Feels unsafe and is dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very gross. Unclean. Front desk was pretty rude and really didn't care about complaints. Seems like a party motel or crack motel. Seriously. Lots of shady people lurking about. Felt very unsafe and scared to go to sleep. But if you're okay with all that, its very cheap and close to Ikea! so... yeah.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    0
    13
See reviews for
3
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was the worst place I ever stayed!dirty bathroom. Roaches in the bed!! Horrible place. Don't anyone ever stay there. Will never be there again! Filthy bathtub. People on either side were loud all night long. Really bad place.

Room Tip: Horrible place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The room was filthy and looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in ages. There was trash on the floor from the previous guests, and burn holes all over the furniture and bedding. The bathroom floor was sticky and the room had a terrible odor. I would never stay here again, and would not have stayed myself if it weren't very late and I was exhausted, but left very early as I was eager to get out of the filthiest room I have ever stayed in. I have stayed in at hotels with cheaper rooms than this that were tons better. I felt dirty after staying in this room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Toilet broke, fire sensor missing, smoke alarm batteries missing, mattresses suck, door safety chain missing, sink stopper broke and finally, no hot water for a shower! Can't imagine ever going back. I complained and all they could offer was 50% off my next stay. ARE THEY KIDDING?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked this motel for the Hockey Classic in Ann Arbour Dec 31st - Jan 2nd (2 nights) at $45.00 night I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal. The room was exactly what I expected (based on the dollar value), its is older, worn and dated. But for the most part clean and comfortable given its age and maintenance. Some of the long term guests were a little scary but they were no problem. My son in law and I thought it was great value for the money. No maid service for the two days while we were there but that's ok I don't usually change the sheets on my own bed everyday. The no smoking room did not smell like someone smoked in it like some places I stayed at, that was nice. The towels were changed everyday and that's what was important. Staff at the front desk (at check in) was what I would classify as "indifferent" not friendly but then not unfriendly. The "long term" broken down truck (completely flat tire, truck buried in snow) in the parking lot by our room made me a little apprehensive when we first checked in.. The lobby did smell like cigarette smoke which gave a bad first impression for a non smoker. The staff at check out was friendlier.

My brother stayed "down the road" and paid at least 3x what I spent on this room for basically sleeping there.

Don't know if I would "vacation here" but it certainly was a good place for a couple guys to crash, shower and use as our "home base".

Its in a great location close to shops, gas, liquor store, restaurant, coffee shop and the highway most within walking distance.

If I was in the Area and Needed and Inexpensive place to lay my head I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Try the second building away from Bob Evans Restaurant, and the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We pulled in, there were four cop cars surrounding the hotel. We got to our room, the room was a sauna, it was hard for us to breath. We turned on the air conditioning, constant loud buzzing sound. We complained, they gave us a room key that didn't work to a new room. I will write a review everyday for the rest of my life until they give me a refund :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the worst hotel ever!!! It used to be a Motel 6 and according to the advertisement, they said that they renovated all the rooms.....What a joke, carpet filthy, bedspread and blanket looked like they had never been washed and there where only 2 towels in the bathroom.. And the sheets did not fit the mattress... Never stay there again and would not recommend to my worse enemy!!!!!!! Terrible experience!

Room Tip: Go some place else!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 41216 Ford Rd, Canton, MI 48187 (Formerly Motel 6 Detroit West - Canton)
Location: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Canton
Motel Six Canton
Canton Motel 6
Canton Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.