We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2501 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Cadillac
parma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This little hotel is next to the lake just down the street from the State Park and public boat launch. I usually don't stay at this chain but needed some place close to our family reunion. The reviews were good and I took a chance. The room was a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. The owners are updating with new carpet, flat screens and I am sure that will make it even a better value for the money. We were in an upstairs room facing the rear of the building. There is a lovely wooded area behind full of birds to watch from a private balcony accessed through a French door. It is a pet friendly hotel for those of you who travel with your dogs. (never heard any barking) so be aware if you have allergies. The staff was very friendly and housekeeping was very good. My only suggestion to the management would be to consider wall mounted hair dryers in the upgrade. It's a very good value for the money and close to the beach and launch so it would be a great place for a family stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room in the back for a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
11
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We took a chance on this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews. This hotel was very reasonably priced, very clean (my main requirement) and easy to find. We stayed here when we were picking our daughter up from Interlochen, which is about 45 minutes away. The staff was very friendly, and recommended places to eat. The rooms were spacious and had a refrigerator. We only stayed overnight so we didn't need it, but it's nice to have if you are staying longer. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but it was fine. The tile looked new and the shower stall appeared to have been recently updated. Again, everything was very clean, which is the most important thing to me. We were in an upstairs room with a balcony at the back of the hotel. The breakfast was typical for this grade of hotel. They had a waffle maker, in addition to cereal, juice, fruit, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What an amazing facility! Everything was way above expectations! The owner and staff care about the facility and their customers! While chatting with the staff and owner, I found out that they have done a bunch of renovations done. They just had a new roof installed and siding. There is new carpet through out the hotel and they are getting new beds soon as well! All I can say is good things about the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed there this past weekend & were pleasant surprised. The lady at the front desk was very courteous & helpful, she recommended places for us to eat dinner. the room was ground floor & we were able to pull right up to the door to unload. The room was a nice size, had a recliner which my husband loved. the bathroom was extremely large. the continental breakfast was what you would expect, nothing fancy but coffee was fresh & staff was helpful & will to get us anything we needed. For the price it was way better than we expected.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gratiot, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped here for less than 8 hours to sleep before skiing. No complaints. The free breakfast was decent, some fruit might have been nice but for the price we paid, it was sufficient. The rooms were clean but a little dated.

Room Tip: All the rooms open to both the parking lot and the interior hallway, which is interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this property because my employer pays for my stay when I'm in town here. At first I thought it was going to be a dirty dump because of the name Econo Lodge. I was so impressed from the moment I walked in to the time I walked out. The staff is awesome the rooms are awesome & very clean. Each second floor room has a balcony of its own and first floor rooms have a patio of its own. If i ever go back to Cadillac on vacation I will choose the hotel over the big name big dollar locations for sure. Great job to everyone who works there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I normally would not stay at an Econo Lodge. However, we were in need of a place to stay and would be coming in late, so we decided to book it. The room was clean and appeared to have been recently repainted. The carpet was in decent shape, shower stall looked new, and everything was in working order. The only down side was that the mattress was a little cupped in the middle. It wasn't bad enough that I would not stay again. Also the new management appears to have redone the breakfast room as well, and it was decent for a cheap hotel. On that note, all of the pictures currently on the Choice Hotels/Econo lodge website are dated. Basically, everything appears to have been updated since the photos were taken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2501 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cadillac
Cadillac Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;