We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo Lodge Cadillac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2501 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Pittsford, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Econo Lodge Cadillac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I normally would not stay at an Econo Lodge. However, we were in need of a place to stay and would be coming in late, so we decided to book it. The room was clean and appeared to have been recently repainted. The carpet was in decent shape, shower stall looked new, and everything was in working order. The only down side was that the mattress was a little cupped in the middle. It wasn't bad enough that I would not stay again. Also the new management appears to have redone the breakfast room as well, and it was decent for a cheap hotel. On that note, all of the pictures currently on the Choice Hotels/Econo lodge website are dated. Basically, everything appears to have been updated since the photos were taken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
12
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a modest hotel, but the staff was very friendly, and the room was fine. Nice balconies on the second floor rooms, even though there wasn't much to see. Continental breakfast included waffles, but not much other than starches. Nice cheap place to sleep!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very nice and clean room and hotel in general. First hotel where we had a "french door" to enter our room from the outside and a regular door to the inside hallway. I thought this was a neat arrangement and it was the first place we stayed that was quiet at night and very peaceful even though it was on a main highway.

Bed was comfortable and the shower was clean and had great water pressure. Don't hesitate to stay here you won't regret it. Beautiful lake across the street and plenty of amenities in town for most anyone.

Room Tip: We loved the lower level so that it was easy to get our stuff in and out of it. Not sure whether th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've stayed here three times while my daughter was studying at Interlochen, mainly because accomodations weren't available in Traverse City. Clean, reasonably priced, located between the two lakes and on the outskirts of Cadillac city. Last stay had a problem with the toilet and the manager repaired himself promptly. For my money this is what a good motel should be. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Within walking distance from a good basic restaurant ....don't remember name. Great breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I found the last July 28 Cadillac MI available hotel room. I needed only a shower, towel and clean bed at the end of a 110 mile bicycle ride. I had no need to be choosy. I was so pleasantly surprised at the better than economy accommodations. There is a trail section exiting Sunnyside that allows you stay off the M-115 roadway. There is an ice cream shop/beverage/convenience store, several restaurants and Lake Cadillac within a stone's throw of the Cadillac Econo Lodge. The room was clean and fresh. There were plenty of clean towels and the room was nicely equipped including a refridgerator. The lovely hosts securely stowed my bike in the hotel maintenance room. Complimentary breakfast choices provide perfect fuel for the return trip. The hotel stay exceeded my expectations. I thank the friendly Econo Lodge Cadillac MI hosts. I recommend this hotel for the trail weary. The Cadillac MI Econo Lodge stands with the 2.5 - 3 star hotels I visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
226 hotel reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed on the 4th of July for a few nights. I loved the location, got a room on the highway side with a side view of the lake. Enjoyed the discount at the restaurant next door (along with frequent flyer miles there), walked around the lake. Listened to a jazz band in town along the lake. Saw fireworks from my balcony, which I shared with many mosquitoes. Visted the Historical Museum.

Room well maintained, quiet. Price - well, the price I was quoted was great. What was on my bill was $4.95 higher (but the difference in price gave me enough points to finish earning a free room in Rome for my Italian/Holy Land cruise in December. So, I guess it's a matter of perspective. Fight for the $10 bucks and have to book another night in a Choice Hotel before the fall, or pay the $10 and get a "free" room in Rome. Not worth argueing.

But the staff were alternatively very nice and then a bit rude - to each other, not the guests.

Breakfast OK, usual lower price carb fest. Balconies nice.

Return to Cadillac - you bet. Here - well, let's see what the stated price is (and then add $5) when comparing this place to the Days Inn. I like the location, and Cadillac seems full of motel dumps like the Rodeway, so maybe. But it wuld be better if they actually charged what was on the resrvation without having to fight for it.

Room Tip: Highway side for the views, upper floor for balcony. Rear for quiet, lower floor for at door parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Cadillace isn't fancy or new, but it's clean and updated. It has friendly front desk staff and the wi-fi speed rocked! It's economical and in a great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2501 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cadillac
Cadillac Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.