We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike trail accessible and bicycle friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2501 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bike trail accessible and bicycle friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I found the last July 28 Cadillac MI available hotel room. I needed only a shower, towel and clean bed at the end of a 110 mile bicycle ride. I had no need to be choosy. I was so pleasantly surprised at the better than economy accommodations. There is a trail section exiting Sunnyside that allows you stay off the M-115 roadway. There is an ice cream shop/beverage/convenience store, several restaurants and Lake Cadillac within a stone's throw of the Cadillac Econo Lodge. The room was clean and fresh. There were plenty of clean towels and the room was nicely equipped including a refridgerator. The lovely hosts securely stowed my bike in the hotel maintenance room. Complimentary breakfast choices provide perfect fuel for the return trip. The hotel stay exceeded my expectations. I thank the friendly Econo Lodge Cadillac MI hosts. I recommend this hotel for the trail weary. The Cadillac MI Econo Lodge stands with the 2.5 - 3 star hotels I visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
13
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
330 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed on the 4th of July for a few nights. I loved the location, got a room on the highway side with a side view of the lake. Enjoyed the discount at the restaurant next door (along with frequent flyer miles there), walked around the lake. Listened to a jazz band in town along the lake. Saw fireworks from my balcony, which I shared with many mosquitoes. Visted the Historical Museum.

Room well maintained, quiet. Price - well, the price I was quoted was great. What was on my bill was $4.95 higher (but the difference in price gave me enough points to finish earning a free room in Rome for my Italian/Holy Land cruise in December. So, I guess it's a matter of perspective. Fight for the $10 bucks and have to book another night in a Choice Hotel before the fall, or pay the $10 and get a "free" room in Rome. Not worth argueing.

But the staff were alternatively very nice and then a bit rude - to each other, not the guests.

Breakfast OK, usual lower price carb fest. Balconies nice.

Return to Cadillac - you bet. Here - well, let's see what the stated price is (and then add $5) when comparing this place to the Days Inn. I like the location, and Cadillac seems full of motel dumps like the Rodeway, so maybe. But it wuld be better if they actually charged what was on the resrvation without having to fight for it.

Room Tip: Highway side for the views, upper floor for balcony. Rear for quiet, lower floor for at door parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Cadillace isn't fancy or new, but it's clean and updated. It has friendly front desk staff and the wi-fi speed rocked! It's economical and in a great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Very nice. Well renovated, clean, power outlets for chargers, round table works as desk, lawn chairs outside, exterior and interior doors, free WiFi, coffee maker, fridge (no micro). Lake across the street (too bad I'm not here to fish!). And yes, they have FoxNews.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Bed Bugs!!!! Terrible rooms!!!! Smelt like curry, dirty carpets. I can't believe this is an Econo Lodge with such dirty carpets and rooms. The supposed owner named Jack talked the place up over the phone and then when I arrived wouldn't give my money back and told me what should I expect. Do yourself a favor and stay well away.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
204 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is my third time here in three years. The rooms have been repainted since my last visit. Lots of maintenance and renovations going on. Looks like new fridge, but old a/c window/wall unit. Manager said new carpeting is probably the next project.

Wi-fi signal very strong (even in my end unit room) and download speed of just over 16mb, which is faster than I have ever seen in a hotel. I especially like having both an interior entrance and a sliding door to the patio/parking lot.

Good water pressure in shower, free breakfast wasn’t much (but about what expected). Overall, a very pleasant stay. Next year will probably be visit #4 and I’ll be expecting even more improvements.

Incidentally, the Frosty Cup restaruant about a quarter mile down the road (across the bridge) is a pretty good inexpensive place for breakfast or an ice cream dessert after dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I had work in Cadillac so I needed a cheap place to stay and through a membership discount, this hotel had the cheapest rate. The hotel is definitely on the older side but it appears to have been modified and updated through the years. The hotel actually has an outside balcony area which I had never seen before at an Econolodge.

The room I had for two nights was clean by all accounts, just dated from the 1970s. I rip the beds open before I start unpacking my luggage to check for bugs or other gross stuff and I found nothing. The hotel's in-room A/C worked well enough and the wireless Internet was pretty good in terms of speed. The breakfast was on the lighter side but that is par for the course with an Econolodge.

So long as you're only looking for a hotel to sleep and take a shower in, this will fit the bill. It is not the greatest place to "hang out" in though but I don't think any hotel in Cadillac would meet that criterion. The hotel's location is very convenient to the State Park area and its nice DNR Visitor's Center and beautiful walks by either Lake Cadillac or Mitchell.

Stay here for the value and not for the coziness/quaintness of the room itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadillac
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
0.2 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#6 of 14 in Cadillac
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cadillac - Days Inn
Cadillac - Days Inn
#7 of 14 in Cadillac
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun-N-Snow Motel
Sun-N-Snow Motel
#11 of 14 in Cadillac
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2501 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cadillac
Cadillac Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.