We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more then a name change” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cadillac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cadillac to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cadillac
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 South Mitchell Street, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly Cadillac Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Cadillac
Saginaw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs more then a name change”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed while the hotel was going through its name change. That was no big deal, I thought, but what was a big deal was how incredibly rude the front desk employee was. The woman that was working was so nasty and rude to me that another customer had to tell her to "shut-up." All of this happened while another employee looked on and other customers were in the check in area. The wi-fi was terrible, the front desk employees were not kind or helpful in any way. If there would have been a number or some kind of contact information on my receipt I would have been contacting the management. I would have to be desperate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
45
36
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Front deck clerk very nice, rooms clean,beds and pillows comfortable. I know they are in between a name change, they are a Comfort Inn and changing into a Hampton Inn.
Breakfast was typical. Very nice Mexican restaurant right across the parking lot. If you like Authentic Mexican food that's the place to go.

Room and service very nice, Hot tub perfect, pool was cold! nice workout area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've reviewed this property before, and am sad say I was recently let down here. First, the price jumped up slightly, which I can understand if there are improvements. However, my most recent stay (Dec '11) was below par. The wi-fi was horrible, the check-in was slow and un-caring, and the breakfast area was out of items. It still isn't "bad", but I think I'll try the Holiday Inn Express next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

FIrst of all, this was our 2nd trip up to Michigan this summer. The first time, we stayed further north in Traverse City. The hotel there was old, shabby and was double of what we paid to stay at the Comfort Inn.

This Comfort Inn is located on a main route in Cadillac, MI. It is very close to dining and recreational venues.

It was clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. The woman who worked at the front desk was very helpful. She drew a map for me offering several restaurant ideas.

Our room was clean. It had a microwave and fridge. The upkeep of the building was good. The pool was clean and well-maintained.

The only disappointment was the "breakfast." It was rather limited in its options, but again, sanitary in its presentation. Biscuits and gravy was the hot breakfast option. It was not too tempting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Nice large rooms, good complimentary breakfast, well equiped fitness room sum up this clean and comfortable property in Cadillac.

I stay at this Comfort Inn at least once a month, and am never let down. Great location on south side of Cadillac.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The guys in my family go up to ski in Michigan every year. This year we chose Caberfae Peaks in Cadillac. We've been there twice before, and we stayed in the Holiday Inn Express last time right next door. I got this room on Priceline.com, and splitting it 4 ways made it pretty cheap. The rooms were super clean, and actually, very classy. It was rated a 2-star on Priceline, but I would consider it at least a 3-star. Great beds, very classy room and bathroom. We were pleasantly surprised with the free breakfast. Normally, for the hotel "free breakfast", you get a little box of fruit loops and a crusty bagel. When we got down to the breakfast area, they did have those Fruit Loops, but they also had warm sausage patties & you could make your own waffle. Delicious. They also have an indoor pool and hottub, and a 24 hour fitness room. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, Michigan, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

The staff was friendly and able to answer all of our questions. The kids loved the pool though it can be hot and steamy for adults that choose to sit on the sidelines. The breakfast was really decent but not a single piece of fruit (or anything else suitable for the vegan traveling with us).
We went to the Mexican restaurant right across the parking lot (based on a recommendation seen in another review) and had a great meal and the best service. There's also a Chinese buffet just a mile or so away that had an incredible selection.
The room was decent and the a/c worked. It wasn't awful I just can't say it was super. Kind of ho hum as far as hotel rooms go. The best thing about the room was that there were several kinds of pillows for us to choose from and it was clean. They have 3 or 4 newer treadmills and a few elliptical machines. The exercise room is open 24/7.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadComfortMgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cadillac, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are now under new management and are focusing on exceeding our guests expectations within all aspects of the hotel. For the selection of our Breakfast Buffet, we have added a fruit salad which features a variety of fruits and we also have added a whole fruit (which varies among seasons) so we can better suit all guests. We are also concentrating on the condition of our rooms so our guests are extremely satisfied with the room appearance and functionality of the room. Your comments are helping us make changes in key areas and we invite you back to stay with us again your next time in the area so we are able to show you these changes. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cadillac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cadillac

Address: 1650 South Mitchell Street, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly Cadillac Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cadillac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spacious Hampton Inn(R) hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the beautiful Lake Cadillac which has hiking trails, picnic areas and swimming for your enjoyment. Lake Mitchell is another beautiful lake for summertime fun. There are also many cross country trails. Guests visiting the area will enjoy the many unique boutiques and small town shopping areas that are located just blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cadillac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cadillac Hotel Cadillac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cadillac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.