We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGuire's Resort

Save Saved
You added McGuire's Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McGuire's Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2, Get 3rd Half Off
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cadillac
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just stayed 4 nights as a get together with Daughter. The Hotel room was clean and comfortable...bed was a little firm for me, but it was only for a few nights, and i did sleep well. Breakfast was in the dining room every morning (included in price)..Very nicely done and plenty of hot or cold food to choose from. I found every memebr of staff I encountered very helpful and pleasant, from front, desk day and night, housekeeping to the staff in the dining room and Curly's Bar...I would definately stay here again.
I have never written a review before, but these people deserve the shout out..

Room Tip: If you are going to use the pool and spa area, ask for a room with the adjoining walkway to it..espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at McGuire's Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We love hearing from our guests. I am glad that your stay was enjoyable. We love hearing that our staff is doing a good job in taking care of our guests. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. I also wanted to make you aware that we have planned a room renovation at the resort and we will be changing everything in the rooms. The plan is to switch to pillow top mattresses in hopes to create a comfortable nights sleep for every guest. We hope you make it up to see us again soon.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
32
39
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allegan, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days in Feb. for some snowmobiling. Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, and the staff was very courteous. Ate several times at Curly's and had good food every time, reasonable prices, too. I enjoy micro-brews, and Curly's had the best selection on tap that I've seen in Cadillac. Will definitely come back. McGuire's is newer and nicer than most of the other somewhat tired and in need of renovation other places in Cadillac. It's right on White Pine trail, so easy access to the entire trail system. Prices are reasonable, so why stay someplace else that offers less?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at McGuire's Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about the Resort. We really appreciate the feedback. We recently changed the menu in Curly's, so I will make sure they are aware that guests are enjoying the changes. We look forward to you next visit.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We wanted to ski Caberfae and came across this hotel by accident. It wasn't our first choice but when we did call our first choice, it was completely full. The folks at hotels.com recommended this place for the same room price. It was overall, a great experience!! They had a great restaurant on site, a great swimming pool and spa and everyone we encountered was super nice. The only drawbacks are that we had to go outside and cross the parking lot to get to the pool. Needless to say its not convenient if it's the middle of winter!! The other thing was that the beds were a little too firm for me and my family so sleep didn't come too easy. But again, great place overall. If we ever come to Cadillac winter or summer, we'd definitely consider staying again - just please, get some slightly softer mattresses!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at McGuire's Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! Even though we weren't your first choice, we are glad that you got the opportunity to try us out. I understand your concern about having to go outside to get to the pool. Because of the layout of the Resort, it does make it difficult to have all the buildings connected. That is one of the reasons that we have the changing rooms available in the pool, to prevent people having to go outside with wet clothes. I also wanted to touch on what you said about the beds. We have planned a room renovation for the resort. We will be changing everything in the rooms. Our plans are to go with pillow top mattresses because we know that a good nights sleep is very important; whether your up skiing in the winter or golfing in the summer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed two nights as a get together with our grown children. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was quite nice with several hot items. The price with breakfast included can't be beat. The property was right on one of the snowmobile trails and M&M rental delivered the sleds right to the hotel. McGuire's is also close to Caberfae for skiing. For price, convenience and helpful staff, this is the place to stay in Cadillac.

Room Tip: One of the rooms we chose was a larger end room so that we would have a place to meet and visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at McGuire's Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad that your trip in January went well, and you were able to enjoy some snowmobiling. It is nice to hear that you were taken care of throughout your stay. Hopefully you will be able to come back and visit us again soon.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed three nights at McGuires while skiing at Caberfae. Room was nice and amenities were good. Great pool and hot tub area. Bar was very good with good variety of drinks. Staff was helpful. The buffet breakfast was a nice touch although they served the same menu each morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at McGuire's Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. I hope your ski trip went well and everybody had a good time. I'm glad to hear the the staff did their job in taking care of you while you were here. I also appreciate the feedback about the continental breakfast buffet. As you stated, the offering was the same each morning. We did this in response to other guest feedback stating they wanted a "consistent" breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve, so we do appreciate hearing from our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed several times in the last year. But it is this 2 night visit that I want to review specifically. From our first contact with Bill when making reservations, to the last phone call with the front desk for express checkout we were overly impressed with every staff member we came in contact with.
We are looking for a clean and reasonably priced place to sleep when not on the slopes. Cindy did a great job having a nice clean room waiting for us. A clean room is a high priority for us. The rooms are simple, but with comfy beds and pillows. The pool is okay, refreshing although the chemicals always seem a little off. The workout room had a little less equipment than we expected. We weren't too disappointed, since we stay active on the slopes. It is just over 20 minutes away from Caberfae Peaks. Breakfast is a hot continental that came with our room. A great start to our day without cutting into our budget. The staff working in the restaurant were great and did a great job of getting refills, meeting our needs and picking up our used dishes. What impressed me most was one of the waitresses, Nett I think, had the most cheerful personality. Her cheerfulness was a great start to our day. Her mood was contagious.
Although McGuires doesn't necessarily fit my definition of a luxury resort. It is a perfect fit for my family, and we have no plans to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at McGuire's Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We love to get feedback from our guests. I would also like to thank you for mentioning some specific people. I will make sure that they are aware that they did a good job.
I appreciate you letting us know your concerns with the pool and workout room. We do our best to keep the chemicals in balance so as not to affect our guests. We have also been discussing different options for our workout room. Your feedback as well as others allows us to see where we are doing well and where we need to improve.
Thank you again for keeping us informed on how we are doing. We hope to see you again soon.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

McGuire's has cross country ski trails (hilly) and snowshoe trails in their backyard (would make good sledding too!). It is 20 min from Caberfe and 45 min from Crystal Mountain (5 min from Lake Cadillac is you like ice fishing).

The room we had was very nice with new carpet, patio and a jetted tub (deluxe queen room). The pool, sauna and hot tub were great and connected to other buildings so you did not have to walk outdoors to get to it. We asked for an extra blanket and towel, and they were delivered promptly and cheerfully.

The breakfast was outstanding. It is served in the beautiful Terrace room overlooking the golf course with nicely set tables and friendly wait staff. Large variety of items (meats, eggs, breads, cereal, yogurt and fruit).

We cannot beleive it was so inexpensive. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms have a kitchenette (counter with sink, frig) which probably makes them bigger, wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at McGuire's Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! It looks like you had a great stay. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the winter activities that we have to offer. I'm also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We have been working on improving it, so the feedback is great.
Please think of us again the next time you visit the area. We look forward to seeing you.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McGuire's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGuire's Resort

Address: 7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McGuire's Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at our charming resort in the wilds of northern Michigan. Located on 327 beautiful acres outside the city of Cadillac, McGuire's is home to two award-winning golf courses, various nature trails, 116 cozy guestrooms and much, much more. Best of all, there is always something to do at McGuire's, regardless of when you plan your visit. Some resorts close their doors and hibernate through the winter, while others lose their appeal the moment the snow melts - but at McGuire's Resort we think differently. With miles of trails for hiking, biking, snowmobiling and cross-country skiing, there is always a reason to relish in the outdoors. That's why our resort stays open 365 days a year. We're also surrounded by half a million acres of national forest, so guests are just minutes away from superb downhill skiing, fishing and lakeside beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your McGuire's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcguire`s Hotel Cadillac
Mcguires Resort Cadillac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGuire's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.