We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Outting Weekend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Resort to your Saves list
Evergreen Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2, Get 3rd Half Off
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Northville, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Golf Outting Weekend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Sept. 7-9 stay and play. Golf course was Great! Proshop personal friendly. Breakfast was bad, powered eggs, uncooked sausage! not ready at 6:30 am, 1 waitress for all. I read other reviews, don't know what happened this weekend but the rooms, food, service was not good. A/C-Heater unit very Loud, dirty sink, glasses, carpet. scratchy bedding, Old TV. The golf, pool, hot tub, sauna excellent. Not worth staying overnight here. Play and GO! Don't Play and Stay!

Room Tip: Play here, stay and eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I am sorry that your stay was not up to our normal standards. We've had a tremendous amount of compliments this year, so it is disappointing to hear that your stay had some problems. We strive to provide a high level of service to all of our guests.
Please contact me at 1-800-632-7302 so I can get a better understanding of what transpired during your stay.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
39
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at McGuires in August of this year. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are looking forward to going back on our anniversary in September. The staff is very friendly and the food at Curly's Pub was very good. The room was spacious and clean with it's own private patio. This will be our destination on all future trips to Northern MI.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and you were able to take advantage of one of our great restaurants. We look forward to having you back in September. Hopefully you will be able to see the fall colors when you visit again.

Thank you again,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place was something else. They said in their brochure when you're here you're an "Honorary McGuire", guess being a McGuire isn't so great. The rooms smelled like smoke even though it said no smoking. The bed sheets had stains and the floor also had some cigarette stains too. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting and the towels had a bad odor. We went to the resturant and my only complaint there was the Spring rolls, don't order those because they will make you sick. I will say this, they had nice tennis courts and a nice golf course, everything else was falsely advertised. I will not return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could/should have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
All of the rooms at the resort are non-smoking, so I am unsure why your room would have had that odor. Our housekeeping staff generally does a great job cleaning and deodorizing the rooms.
I would like to talk to you in more detail about the rest of your stay, so I can get a clearer picture of what happened. Please feel free to contact me at 1-800-632-7302.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We took advantage of a Groupon deal to visit McGuire's resort in Cadillac.

Room:
Our room was ready when we arrived (standard double), and they had provided a Pack n Play for our 7 month old. The room was nice and clean, though the decor was a bit dated. One thing I noticed was that there were A LOT of outlets to plug things in. Usually, we have to unplug lamps or alarm clocks in order to charge our phones and laptops, but our room at McGuires had plenty of plugs, which was nice. We also appreciated the mini-fridge for keeping baby food refrigerated.

One problem we had was that our room key cards kept getting "deactivated". Within 10 min of arriving, we were locked out of our room as we were unloading the car. We went back to the front desk, they reactivated they cards and told us to keep them away from phones/ipods/other credit cards, etc... We were very careful after that, but during our 4 day stay, we had to get at least 6 cards reactivated. Our room was very close to the front desk, so it wasn't that big of problem, but if our room had been farther from desk, it would have been annoying to be locked out so often. The resort was going to have maintenance look at the lock the day we left.

Food:
Our stay included breakfast every morning. Breakfast is served until 9 during the week (until 10 on weekends), and we noticed that it was less busy if we got there a little before or right at 8. The breakfast had a nice selection of hot food: scrambled eggs, hash browns, a meat (either sausage or bacon), and something else...omelets, or pancakes, or french toast, or "western" eggs. The buffet also included: fruit (bananas, grapefruit), muffins/danishes, cereal, toast/bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, juice and coffee.

Twice during our stay, we had dinner at Curly's (Groupon deal included two $20 vouchers!). The service was quick and efficient. We enjoyed the basket of popcorn when we arrived! The food was good standard burgers/sandwiches/fries. We also got dessert to go both nights...the tuxedo cake and cheesecake were both delicious!

Other:
The pool was great. We enjoyed a lot of time there with our 7 month old. We were often the only ones in the pool area.

We don't golf, so I can't comment on that.

All in all, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. It seems as though you were able to take advantage of a lot of the amenities while you were here. It is always a pleasure to hear that people we able to enjoy their stay and the amenities of the facility. We look forward to your next visit.

Thanks again,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

When we arrived at the resort the hotel staff could not find our reservations. This was because she repeatedly miss-spelled our name in the computer. She was also very rude to my elderly parents who had made the reservations correctly! My mother had confirmation numbers and all!

Beds are extremely hard. It was like sleeping on a board. There was no security at all. Underage kids were running around the parking lot at midnight, drunk and making a lot of noise.

The breakfast food was awful and the rooms are just so so. I will never, ever stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't even try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the confusion you seemed to have encountered during check-in. I would love to speak to you about your stay in more detail so we can find out what we can do to make sure the issues you had can be prevented in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at 1-800-632-7302.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at this resort for a wedding. I would call the property dated but clean. It had old furniture, cheap curtains and bedding. Some buildings were more recently updated than others, we stayed in one of the older buildings. There really is no "wow factor" with the sleeping rooms. But like I said it was clean and overall we enjoyed the stay. There is a nice pool area, indoors, with a game room, sauna and hot tub. The golf course looked nice, we didn't play. Took a walk on their VitaTrail, it was nice that it took you through some wooded areas but it also runs along the golf course and we could hear balls coming through the trees and were a little nervous about getting hit. The wedding reception was held in a very small room, I'm not sure if they had a larger space available or what the situation was there. The food was pretty good. We really liked Curly's bar, hung out there a few nights, great service, very friendly staff and reasonably priced drinks. Ask for a Summer Island! All in all not what I would expect from a "resort" but still a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building were updated. Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about our Resort. We like to know when we do well and when/where we need to improve. We strive to make all guests stays enjoyable, and hopefully we did that for you. Hope to see you some time again.

Thanks,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed in your "resort" hotel from July 19-22 and thought it would have been better for the price we paid. Found urine on the toilet seat before using it the first time. Toilets flush on you. Pressure needs to be adjusted so they don't flush spray on you. Had to adjust the mattresses each night so they would stay on top of the box. Air conditioning was noisy. Kids were outside making a lot of noise the night before our trip home and we couldn't get to sleep. The breakfast was exceptionally terrible. The toasters were inadequate and would not toast a simple English muffin. Hash browns greasy. Eggs powdered. Ended up getting a better breakfast elsewhere the other days. Our room at the Ramada Lansing was less expensive but had better accommodations than McGuires and the breakfast was everything you could ask for in a continental breakfast: fresh eggs, bacon, toast your own waffles, cereal in boxes, fruit, butter, syrup, yogurt, pastries, coffee, juice, etc.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Very private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the issues that you had during your stay. I appreciate your concerns with breakfast. We do our best to fulfill the needs of all our guests. I would be happy to dicuss your concerns over the phone. Please feel free to contact me at 1-800-632-7302.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Resort

Address: 7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at our charming resort in the wilds of northern Michigan. Located on 327 beautiful acres outside the city of Cadillac, Evergreen Resort is home to two award-winning golf courses, various nature trails, 116 cozy guestrooms and much, much more. Best of all, there is always something to do at Evergreen Resort, regardless of when you plan your visit. Some resorts close their doors and hibernate through the winter, while others lose their appeal the moment the snow melts - but at Evergreen Resort we think differently. With miles of trails for hiking, biking, snowmobiling and cross-country skiing, there is always a reason to relish in the outdoors. That's why our resort stays open 365 days a year. We're also surrounded by half a million acres of national forest, so guests are just minutes away from superb downhill skiing, fishing and lakeside beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Evergreen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcguire`s Hotel Cadillac
Mcguires Resort Cadillac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.