We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Resort to your Saves list
Evergreen Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2, Get 3rd Half Off
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed in your "resort" hotel from July 19-22 and thought it would have been better for the price we paid. Found urine on the toilet seat before using it the first time. Toilets flush on you. Pressure needs to be adjusted so they don't flush spray on you. Had to adjust the mattresses each night so they would stay on top of the box. Air conditioning was noisy. Kids were outside making a lot of noise the night before our trip home and we couldn't get to sleep. The breakfast was exceptionally terrible. The toasters were inadequate and would not toast a simple English muffin. Hash browns greasy. Eggs powdered. Ended up getting a better breakfast elsewhere the other days. Our room at the Ramada Lansing was less expensive but had better accommodations than McGuires and the breakfast was everything you could ask for in a continental breakfast: fresh eggs, bacon, toast your own waffles, cereal in boxes, fruit, butter, syrup, yogurt, pastries, coffee, juice, etc.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Very private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the issues that you had during your stay. I appreciate your concerns with breakfast. We do our best to fulfill the needs of all our guests. I would be happy to dicuss your concerns over the phone. Please feel free to contact me at 1-800-632-7302.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
39
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just came back from a 4 days stay at this resort
It's a wonderfull place for a relaxing vacation
The room is clean and comfortable.
The staff are wonderfull & courteous
Specially thanks to Erica at the front desk & Teresa at the restaurant
The golf course are nicely maintained, and the staff at the pro shop are extremely helpfull
We will be back next year

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable. I will pass on the word to the staff members that you metioned. It is nice to hear when they have done a good job and I know they will be glad to hear it. We look forward to your next visit.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have stayed at McGuires the last two years and have had nice experiences both times. The room we stayed in was recently remodeled, very clean. The staff was accommodating and friendly. We ate dinner and breakfast at the resort, I judge them to be average. The golf course was in much better shape this year, challenging, but fair.

Overall, for the price it was worth the trip, but nothing outstanding.

Room Tip: The main lodge had the nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It seems like you had a good time. We've heard a lot of compliments about the course this year. It must mean they are doing something right. Hopefully your golf game was enjoyable as well. We look forward to you visiting us again, the next time you are in the area.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Mcguire's for four nights with a groupon coupon (299. for 4 nights w/40.00 in credit at Curlie's, the inhouse bar/cafe). It was the 4th of July week & very hot so we did not spend a lot of time inroom. Mostly we used Mcguire's as homebase each night as we wandered the Lake Michigan shoreline from Ludington to Sleeping Bear to Traverse City. Wonderful!

The room we stayed in was a little dated but quite adequate for our purposes. Our room was on the 3rd floor but the elevator only goes to the 2nd floor (a little annoying~). The room had a great a/c although it did smell a little moldy (bring a can of lysol; quite helpful). The king-size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a lack of hot water to start with but a call to the front desk and we had hot water in an hour or so. We were very pleased with how prompt and gracious all of the staff were that we encountered during our stay. The maids were awesome; it was nice to come home hot and sandy from the beach to find our rooms vacumed and with fresh towels. Lovely.

This really is a golfer's resort. We are not golfers but we found the pool facilities (sauna, whirlpool, pool) a nice feature. I only saw a few families with kids, but I understand their kitchenette units are very nice for those traveling with kids. They are pet friendly for an upcharge per/night (20.00 extra per night and they put you in the "old" part of the resort (as in not the newest beds).

We did not eat in their upscale Tavern on the Green, but did have lunch at Curlie's. Honestly, not too impressive. It's bar food served in a bar.

This is a great place for folks who are into the whole "golfing & drinking and then golfing some more" kind of vacation. We found it was a surprisingly quiet place to sleep while exploring Northern Michigan. I'm not sure I'd pay their "normal" rates to stay there, but it was a great groupon deal!

Ps the pizza from the partystore in town was great and a real bargain~D&G

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate insight from our guests. I'm glad you found our location useful. As you stated, we are located not too far off the beaten path, and close to so much. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again and see even more.

Thanks again,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Somehow I got stuck in a pet friendly room. When I opened the door I was knocked back by the smell of wet dog. I tried to change rooms but nothing else was available. The room was very dated. Carpet was ripped, the worst part was just how dirty everything in the room was. Not including the smell, there were stained towels, dead bugs, the air conditioner was filthy and smelled like mold. I included some photos Im not sure if they'll post them. I didn't see housekeeping until my third day when I said I needed towels and garbage bags even then I packed up the towels and garbage when they brought what I needed and cleaned up myself. Free breakfast was a plus and the pub in the clubhouse had descent food and good service. I just think they need to market this place more for what it is an outdated motel 8 on a nice golf course.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I apologize for the issues that you seemed to have during your stay. I was unaware until I saw your review. I would appreciate it if you contacted me so I could get some clarification about your stay.

Thank you,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

The decor and technology offerings are seriously outdated at this resort. Though we stayed here because our central air broke; this hotel is not at all as advertised. Perhaps they have put their attention to updates other than the guest rooms. However, one would think they at least have a current phone book....not!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I'm sorry that you feel the stay was "not as advertised'. We do our best to fulfill the needs of every guest. We do appreciate the feedback. It allows us to learn things about ourselves and/or catch things we may have overlooked.

Thank you,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Great service, beautiful views and great bargain! Rooms are spacious although just a bit shabby. We had a great experience and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. I'm glad that your stay was enjoyable. Please think of us again the next time you are in the area.

Thanks again,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Resort

Address: 7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at our charming resort in the wilds of northern Michigan. Located on 327 beautiful acres outside the city of Cadillac, Evergreen Resort is home to two award-winning golf courses, various nature trails, 116 cozy guestrooms and much, much more. Best of all, there is always something to do at Evergreen Resort, regardless of when you plan your visit. Some resorts close their doors and hibernate through the winter, while others lose their appeal the moment the snow melts - but at Evergreen Resort we think differently. With miles of trails for hiking, biking, snowmobiling and cross-country skiing, there is always a reason to relish in the outdoors. That's why our resort stays open 365 days a year. We're also surrounded by half a million acres of national forest, so guests are just minutes away from superb downhill skiing, fishing and lakeside beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Evergreen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcguire`s Hotel Cadillac
Mcguires Resort Cadillac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.