We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly, disgusting.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cadillac Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cadillac Sands Resort to your Saves list
Cadillac Sands Resort
6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Essexville, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly, disgusting.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I reserved a room with one king sized bed on the lakeside. We checked in to the room. It smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, which is odd, since all hotels in Michigan are smoke free. The carpet, which at one time was green had faded to a almost yellow. The towels were supposed to be white, however were yellow. The room had a horrible smell and was very dirty. We went back to the front desk and explained the room was not to our standards. The front desk clerk stated oh, of course, let me put you in a nicer room (really, you purposely put us in a gross room?). Another worker showed us another room on the second floor on the road side. The room wasn't nearly as smelly. I pulled the bedspread back to look a the sheets. They looked clean so I sat down. I turned the television on and after about five minutes my arm started itching intensely. I pulled the covers completely down and realized there were little black bugs (spiders? bed bugs?) all over the bed. I took a picture with my cell phone and went back to the front desk. They credited my account. They acted like this type of thing happens quite regularly. We left and went to the Holiday Inn Express, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
When you checked in you came to the front desk and asked if you could move you didn't like the lighting in the room-not once did you say that the room smelled of cigarette smoke. We offered you another room and took you to see if that room was acceptable, you inspected the room and said it was fine. In less than 5 minutes you were back at the front desk and said your arm was itchy and you saw a bug. We promptly refunded your money as it was clear you did not want to stay with us. The room was inspected and not one bug was found. The Cadillac Sands Resort is a 50 year old Northern Michigan hotel not a new and modern chain hotel; we pride ourselves on being clean and comfortable. You are right that our towels are not white!! We purchase beige colored towels for our resort. We have absolutely no problem with the fact that you were looking for something different in a hotel then what we offer. But please don’t fabricate stories for the sake of not being charged for your stay. We have NEVER had a “bug” problem at this hotel and we certainly don’t have one now. If you would rather stay elsewhere-simply tell us and move on-We will gladly refund your money and thank you for stopping by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    11
    10
    22
See reviews for
21
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Needs major renovation....pool falling apart..ceiling tiles hanging from ceiling.. etc very dirty rooms and they had the worst smell ever.... and the pool area again an awful smell....the only thing nice about this place is the location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I hate to say bad things about this place because I love Cadillac, and the people at the Sands are truly wonderful and accomodating. The hotel rooms are awful though. It is such a shame because they have an awesome location right on the lake. We have visited on several occasions over the past 15 years hoping it would get better, but it has not. I am not looking for luxury, I am looking for a clean comfortable place to stay, and this is not that place. Each time it has been on a weekend and we usually spend $110 to $130 for a standard room. I think this is a lot of money for what you get at the Sands. I am trying not to be mean, but the room we were given on our last visit was so bad I slep in the back of our truck rather than in the bed. The bed had an odor - both beds did - and they were very worn out and springy. The bathroom smelled of urine and there was black mold everywhere. There were spatters of what looked like vomit all over the wall. This time we had a pool room. You get a door that opens right into the room where the pool is at. We thought nothing of this until we had kids knocking on our door - pranking us for several hours. The room itself smelled really, really bad. This was not the worst room we have ever had there, it is very typical. We have noticed a lot of younger guests, lots of parties, so if this is what you are looking for, the Sands is the place for you. If you want a clean comfortable hotel room, look elsewhere. We will not hope to have a good stay at the Sands ever again, which is such a shame because the employees are so nice, and the lake is beautiful where it sits. I am not sure why they keep it so run down, unless, since it is the only hotel with lakefront footage, they don't need to.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We appreciate your business and your comments although we wish if you had issues with any part of your stay we surely would appreciate the courtesy of being informed sooner than 6 months after your stay. You mention that your mattress was "worn and springy" we have replaced our mattresses in the spring of 2013 so they should not have been worn in any way. As far as the cleanliness of our rooms our staff works very hard in assuring our rooms are clean and comfortable and if there was something that needed addressed a quick call to the desk would have taken care of it. As far as noise around your room if we would have known that you were having issues we could have addressed them immediately and taken care of the noise -but if we are unaware of a situation we surely can not fix it.You are correct in the fact that we have a lot of young guests as well as older guests tha come and stay with us for a fun filled stay. The week that you stayed with us we did have a few family reunion blocks of rooms in house. At times when you get groups like this together they can become nosy. Again we appreciate your critique and apologize for your unpleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spents lots of time (and money) in mostly franchise motels and hotels. Had to stay at this one as part of a package and experienced the worst setting in my travel life. This is literally the "Bates Motel", revisited. Looks like someone bought a 1960s rundown motel as an investment and concluded that it was too much work and money to make it "right". It has the makings of a potential nice place--lakefront location, next to fast food and sit down restaurants, high visibility location on a main commuter route, etc--but the critical stuff is absent: no electronic access cards, horrible continental b'fast (how about some plastic plates larger than a muffin?), terrible food in the "cabana" restaurant ($5 for a cold-inside hot dog and stale chips? Are you kidding?), popcorn ceilings in the rooms with multiple crack and leak marks, no sound insulation between rooms, a horrible toilet that has a hidden flush handle, shower water that literally scalds at 3/4 hot.......... the list goes on and on.

I

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Indeed you were part of a package paid for by another company. Unfortunately you tried to bring a person into the block of rooms that was not authorized and you were upset because you had to pay for that extra room. We have to abide by the group leader's guest list - after all they are the one's paying for the rooms !!
The Cadillac Sands Resort is a Fun, Family Northern Michigan Hotel. We are not "State of the Art" that is true, no electronic key locks or state of the art electronics, but I can assure you our toilet handles are where all toilet handles are located and if you had issues finding yours by all means a simple call to the desk would have eliminated your problem. Sorry to hear your hot dog was not satisfactory and you did not like the ceiling in your room. All of our rooms are insulated for sound however as in any hotel or apartment they are not soundproof to guests that are overly loud. Again a simple call to our staff and we could have contacted the room that was noisy.(Can't fix what we don't know)

As for your room tip-----We agree! Please choose another hotel. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed one night because we had to cancel due to family emergency. I know why people say it needs updating but you have to remind yourself that you are up north. The front desk staff was amazing. We told them of our emergency and they refunded our money for the next 2 nights. We also left my daughter's shoes when we left and we got a phone call about that. Luckily we were not too far away and could pick them up. Most places would have tossed them. It's the little things. It's hard to find good customer service like that. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry your trip was cut short and hope everything is okay!
Thank you from all at the front desk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Definitely not what they make it out to be!!! It's a dump, not very clean, and the service sucked. And it wasn't very reasonable either! There's only one good thing about that hotel, the water pressure in the shower, and that's it!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there, you will regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Sorry to see that your stay at our resort was not what you expected. We work very hard in making our resort a fun family friendly resort and we surely appreciate feedback from our guests. That being said we hope our guests with issues let us know at the time of the incident so we can address the issue immediately.We cant take care of a problem if we are unaware of it !! Again we apologize that your stay was not what you had expected and we hope that you might try our resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm sure in it's glory this was a beautiful place. It's in dire need of updating. But, it's clean, reasonably priced and the front desk staff was awesome!!! The restaurant was closed Sun & Monday so I did not eat there. They serve a continental breakfast that had muffins & biscuits and gravy that was good flavored.

I was told they have a rockin nightclub on the weekend!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms open to the pool or have an outside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadillac Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Sands Resort

Address: 6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cadillac Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Sands Hotel Cadillac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadillac Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.