We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming Back for More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com
Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac
1246 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Cadillac
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Coming Back for More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our entire family really enjoy staying here, usually once in the summer and once during the winter. Lots of great stuff to do in and near Cadillac most of the year and this condo is located directly on the south shore of Lake Cadillac.

As usual, our unit was very clean, the resort staff were very nice and responsive, and you absolutely cannot beat the view. The owner's Club House was also open for our use and was also very nice and clean.

We always like staying here and we'll definitely return. In spite of some negative comments we've seen online, we really like it here. Great value for the money and ..... each condo has it's own washer and dryer. No elevators here, so we try to get a first floor condo whenever we can, but that's only a small setback for us.

Room Tip: This resort has no elevators, so we try to rent a ground floor unit if one is available. No big dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

While the view is serene and the rooms are comfortable, don't let the word "resort" fool you--the property consists of condos, being sold in shares, and rented out when empty. There is no housekeeping, no elevator, the desk closes at 5pm, and there is no food nearby unless you prep it yourself in the kitchen. That being said, there is a small pool, beach chairs by the clear-water lake, docks, grills, a bit of sand, and even free Wi-Fi--requisite elements for a family holiday.

We enjoyed the gas fireplace, roomy balcony, and the comfortable living room, but the beds (all queens or twin, as far as I can tell) were really bouncy, and we each had trouble sleeping when the other moved around. The carpets and halls need refreshing, but our unit was clean. Condos are either 2- or 3-bedroom with kitchens stocked with dishes, pots, etc. The rates are a bit less than hotel rooms, but not a great bargain since they supply few services.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has good views but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The unit is huge. Comfortable furnishings. Nice gas fireplace. View of lake from bedroom and livingroom. Smelled like insect spray. Being that the area has alot of woods and is directly on the lake, I figured there may be a problem with the outside insects getting inside. A spider crawled on my husband in the livingroom and I saw a spider in the bathroom. Despite this I would stay here again it is peaceful and very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesaning, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We had a blissful time at this beautiful resort! My husband and I took our grandson and we all three enjoyed the lake and beach, the docks, the large indoor pool and hot tub as well as the generous hospitality of everyone at the resort.

We had tried to go here before and always found it booked, so next time we return will will reserve in plenty of time to be able to find a vacancy. It will be a joy to go here again, summer or winter! Everything was sparkly clean and it had all the conveniences of home with a dishwasher and washer and dryer.

Cadillac had many activities to offer as well as several good places to eat when we didn't feel like cooking or grilling. The town has enough to do, but is not at all too busy... just a perfect destination for fun and relaxation.

  • Liked — Beautiful Facility
  • Disliked — We wished we could have stayed longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

My family has stayed here once in the summer and fall each of the past 3 years. We absolutely love it here.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the condos are always very neat and clean.

We rent the handicap accessible unit (#301) on the walkout level, because we have a son that is confined to a wheel-chair. The door openings are nice and wide, the common bathroom is very wheel-chair friendly, and he spends most of his time on the covered front porch and watches the beach activities / boaters.

Tons of great things to do anytime of the year in Cadillac, and Clubhouse pool, sauna and workout areas are great, and (again) the staff are really service oriented.

Will return year after year...

  • Liked — 30 feet from the lake
  • Disliked — Can't honestly think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — This development does not have any elevators to the second or third floors - stairs only. Try to get a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

The best summer vacation we've ever had. We had a three bedroom condo overlooking the lake and it was beautiful. They even had a guitarist around the campfire on Friday and Saturday nights. It was well worth the extra money over a hotel room. There was a kitchen, two bathrooms and a washer and dryer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac

Also Known As:
Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac Hotel Cadillac
Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac Hotel
Address: 1246 Sunnyside Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Cadillac
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Shores Resort Cadillac to your Saves list