We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Mold and Spider webs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cadillac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cadillac to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7642 South US 131, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware of the Mold and Spider webs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Recently checked into the Holiday Inn Express in Cadillac Michigan. We had never been to Cadillac Mi before so we did not know the accommodation in the area. Being a Card holder of the Holiday Inn Family we searched and found this property. I called direct to make the reservation and all went well and the employee that made the reservation was more than helpful and accommodating. The day we checked in the front staff was a different person and made me feel like I was some sort of liar when I repeated what the reservation person told me. Not only that we had to wait in the lobby as our room was not ready. She tried to charge extra for roll away and extra for room change. This made our day start off on the wrong side of the mountain as we were heading to Cabrafae to ski. We check in and left to go skiing. The next morning we opened the drapes to find mold covering the window frames and spider webs over the sprinkler system heads. I took pictures and showed the front desk staff and asked for a Manager to call me. No one to date has called. Just a heads up to check your rooms of mold. I have three children and two have asthma. Be careful and make sure of the room environment.

Room Tip: Check for Mold and Spider Webs. I will download the pictures of proof when I get back in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I am sincerely sorry you encountered problems during your stay at our hotel. We do strive to keep all our guest happy. Management has looked into your concerns. Your room rate was reduced and a letter of apology is also sent to you. Again, I am truly sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
16
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Nice hotel. Clean lobby and breakfast area. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms are nice and clean, pillows aren't the best but we bring our own anyhow.

Pool and hot tub area was nice, took the kids down in the morning to use the pool and hot tub before checking out and for some reason they were draining the hot tub.....why they don't wait to do it till after people check out I don't know, but we couldn't use it. There is also no vending machines in the entire hotel, something about opening a store and it not being ready yet.....either way, your a hotel, vending machines would be nice.

Over all a nice one night stay....more than one, maybe not for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Cadillac.
Your comments are appreciated. We are excited about receiving new pillows in the very near future to help youand all our guest have a better stay.

Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a very bad experience at another hotel down the road. We are so happy that we checked out of the previous hotel and checked in to this one. The front desk staff are super friendly. The rooms are comfortable and modern. Breakfast was hot and the breakfast area was very clean. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Cadillac!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank You!! We strive to make our guest stay enjoyable and comfortable. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, Michigan
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is getting some upgrades in the lobby so it will be really nice when it's done. The rooms are clean and up to date. Beds are comfortable and my room had a microwave and small fridge. The people were really friendly and helpful. The location is outside of town but close to the main road. It's about 2 miles into downtown. I works stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Is great to hear these wonderful reviews while we are remodeling. Thank you for staying with us! Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My sons hockey team stayed here while playing in a tournament. It's exactly what you expect from HIE. My only complaint is that the pool has no ventilation so chlorine fumes were strong. For some reason hotels are expensive in Cadillac. But this was competitively priced for area.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Great bunch of kids. I am sorry you had a problem with the chlorine smell. Our maintenance staff works to keep the levels at the proper levels. I will adivse them you had this problem.
Again, thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First I want to say I got this hotel on Priceline.com for about $40 cheaper than hotel rate. I suggest this for any hotel stay!!!

Stayed one night early September 2013. Very friendly hospitality. Hotel Lobby is modern and very clean. The staff opened the dinning room for us to eat our take out dinner.

Rooms were clean and everything was in order. (grout in bathroom needed fixed, but was not bad) Beds are ok. I am used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress, but I still snored my night away.

Breakfast was above average for hotels. Coffee was nice and hot!

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the elevators - Ice machine, vending right by elevator are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments . We strive to be a "Great Hotel Guest Love"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREMONT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was easy to get to off expressway. Very friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast which was kept stocked! Had a good night's sleep. Was quiet and we were surprised to find it was not a new place! If in area would not hesitate to stay here again. In room 210. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to keep all of our guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cadillac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cadillac

Address: 7642 South US 131, Cadillac, MI 49601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cadillac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cadillac is an exceptional hotel from it's beautiful decor, to it's outstanding level of service, you have made the right choice with this hotel. Conveniently located in Cadillac at exit #177 off US 131. Conveniently located near many nationally recognized restaurants, shopping centers, golf courses, ski slopes, snowmobile trails and much more. Inside you will find spacious guest rooms all equipped with hairdryers, irons and boards, coffee/tea makers and remote control TV with many cable and premium stations. 2 phones with 2 lines and data ports. Our suites include microwaves, refrigerators, and comfortable lounging area. If you have the time. . . we have a lot to offer. Visit our recreational center with a large indoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. We pride ourselves as being Cadillac's finest and newest hotel. Don't forget to join us in the morning for your free deluxe continental breakfast. The question isn't where to stay, it's when can we expect you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cadillac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac Hotel Cadillac
Holiday Inn Cadillac
Cadillac Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cadillac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.