We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da Dawg House - CLOSED

Da Dawg House
6080 E M 115, Cadillac, MI 49601-8716
231-876-9940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a great family restuarant! We have visited it about 4 times and each time the food is wonderful and the prices are so reasonable. Would love to see it listed in Tripadvisor! If it makes it in, I would definately submit a review! By the way, your site is AWESOME and I use it all the time! Sincerely, Anita Struck (puhnkee@sbcglobal.net)
Temperance MI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Set between two wonderful Michigan lakes, it's a prime spot. Affordable meals, good Reuben sandwich, breakfasts looked good too. Help and service was so so. Don't come if you are in a rush. Lots of misc hanging around to look at.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing! Skip it & go someplace were the food tastes better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Never eating here again. Seems like management has changed or they are getting cheap. We went for lunch just after the 4th- a busy time but they were under staffed. Food came out wrong- half out food came out 15 minutes before the rest of the table- so we were waiting or they were waiting. Wait staff were not attentive. Food tasted like if was out of a Gordon Food container. Several left food w/o thinking of taking it home. Food was overpriced for what we got.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little family spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My kids love to eat here. It's a cute little spot with good food and decent prices. Great after a day on the lake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I'm surprised to see the poor reviews. We've stopped here twice for breakfast and loved it both times. This time, my husband and I shared the "Dawg Chow". I am not a fan of sausage gravy & bisquits, but this is great. Nice atmosphere, very friendly wait staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It's got a lumberjack atmosphere. It's got a lake location. Its looks clean and new. The place was recommended by a local, but the place didn't work for me. I was not a happy camper. This seems like old-school, pre-WWII style cookery. Service was slow. My eggs were incredibly greasy. The coffee was so watery to barely taste like coffee. This is THE place if you like to eat in quantity, as the menu emphasizes large portions. If you are a lumberjack who burns a lot of calories in a day (or maybe you enjoy eating, eating, eating), then this is the place for you. After my breakfast here, I felt queasy for hours from ingesting so much grease/oil/fat. Why didn't I ask for more napkins to soak some of it up? Dummy me. I had many outstanding experiences during my vacation in Michigan, in a special way - this was one of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Dawg House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Dawg House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.