We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A European window between the Great lakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann's European Cafe

Hermann's European Cafe
214 N. Mitchell Street, Cadillac, MI 49601
231-775-9563
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A European window between the Great lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was surprised to find a so good European kitchen in Cadillac! It is mandatory to taste onion soup and the brie & apple!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    20
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gourmet wonders, how do you choose?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Anything on the menu, I'm positive is wonderful. Don't pass up desert either!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Where You Might Not Expect It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have made Hermann's a must stop on business and pleasure trips north (and back) from our home in West Michigan for at least two decades. We have never been disappointed in the food, atmosphere or staff, even when Chef Hermann was absent on one of his ski vacations. Accommodating and appropriate for families, but the noise level is somehow always subdued and pleasant. The deli and bakery adjacent to the restaurant is a real bonus if you need cheese, meats, wines, bread or pastries.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good reason to stop in Cadillac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I have had many wonderful dinners at Hermann's. The desserts are just wonderful and we always end up taking some home for later. Good selection on wine. Always look forward to their daily specials. I used to work in town and our office would at times order lunch from them and they were always gracious, generous with servings and would go out of their way to accomadate.

Thanks Chef Hermann!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, GA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My brother and I met friends for dinner where we could hear each other's conversations, and we all loved our food. I had German Sauerbraten, red cabbage, spaetzle, and struedel. Loved all of it and our waiter was very cordial and attentive. Great place for excellent food and quiet atmosphere condusive to great conversation.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann's European Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hermann's European Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermann's European Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.