We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in northern Michigan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Cafe

Blue Heron Cafe
304 N Mitchell St, Cadillac, MI 49601-1871
231-775-5461
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Cadillac
Cuisines: American
Description: The Blue Heron serves an excellent breakfast and lunch in large proportions; they are not open for dinner. Food is always fresh and unique. Daily lunches include a choice of 2 homemade soups w/complimentary homemade sourdough bread and a variety of sandwiches on homemade sourdough bread or wraps. Salads are always freshly made and filled with fruit, vegetables, and/or meat with tasty dressings. Two baker's display cases are filled each morning with fresh cookies, fried cakes, muffins, bagels, pies, cakes, and a large variety of sweet rolls, baked on site. Customers congregate there for coffee and a choice of doughnut or cookie. Their breakfasts are hearty and delicious. The owner is the cook, and it is a treat to find such a high quality restaurant in this small tourist town.
Restaurant details
Description: The Blue Heron serves an excellent breakfast and lunch in large proportions; they are not open for dinner. Food is always fresh and unique. Daily lunches include a choice of 2 homemade soups w/complimentary homemade sourdough bread and a variety of sandwiches on homemade sourdough bread or wraps. Salads are always freshly made and filled with fruit, vegetables, and/or meat with tasty dressings. Two baker's display cases are filled each morning with fresh cookies, fried cakes, muffins, bagels, pies, cakes, and a large variety of sweet rolls, baked on site. Customers congregate there for coffee and a choice of doughnut or cookie. Their breakfasts are hearty and delicious. The owner is the cook, and it is a treat to find such a high quality restaurant in this small tourist town.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great find in northern Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had such a wonderful breakfast at the Blue Heron Cafe. Four different dishes: special stuffed French toast; spring breakfast bowl; sourdough pancakes and asparagus Omlette. All were amazing. Fresh ingredients and very well prepared. I would travel out of my way to eat here again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    13
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a gem! The food was great. We enjoyed the breakfast sandwich with herb cream cheese and the chorzio omelet. Gluten free toast was very good and came at no extra charge.The staff was very friendly.Glad I saw the review and stopped by on my way north. By the way first time visitors may choose a free bakery item. We selected a gluten free chocolate chip cooky (yummy!)and a peanut butter donut.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Still Great! After all these years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I used to eat at the Blue Heron regularly when I was in Cadillac. I've been away for 7 years but went back for memory lane purposes. Still great! We we're in there on Saturday - Memorial Day weekend and it was busy but the staff was great. The food is always great and the bakery - oh my! Try the bran muffins with raisins!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, MI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Using the local freshest ingredients possible, this place is a gem. Wonderful breakfast selections. Love having salmon & fruit for breakfast. Great variety of fresh made breads, donuts, and cookies available. Awesome soups & sandwiches. Only open for breakfast & lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“They're #1 in Cadillac!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are looking for excellently prepared food, served by caring, competent people, then the Blue Heron is YOUR place. I've been to Cadillac a 1/2 dozen or so times on business the past few months and had eaten elsewhere until a week ago we "accidentally" wandered into the Blue Heron. Actually we had been referred there by a couple different people, but each time we tried they were closed (after 2:00pm). My business associate and I both had a funky salad and it was absolutely terrific!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.