We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun-N-Snow Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sun-N-Snow Motel to your Saves list
Sun-N-Snow Motel
301 South Lake Mitchell Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Cadillac
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at Sun-n-Snow Motel while we were on a road trip. It's a good budget option. Very simple rooms: bed, dresser, microwave, fridge, etc. Nothing fancy, for sure, but I actually slept pretty well on the mattress, which is saying something for me. Clean and tidy, the original tile in the bathroom is well maintained and the water for the shower is HOT (awesome!).

The only reason why this motel didn't get 4 stars is that it was very cold in our room, regardless of how high we turned the heat up. The reason for this is that there is a huge gap between the door and its frame (room 36). Having a coffee maker in the room would also be nice.

The property could use a little TLC, but looks like it might be a good place for a budget-oriented family reunion since it's right on the lake and the property is set back off the road. The snow was so high that it was hard to tell what it would be like in the summer. Lots of snowmobilers were using it for winter stays. The manager and his wife were helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We were accused of stealing a top sheet when we came back because I left my pillow in the room. Treated us like crap and would not give me my pillow unless the sheet was returned. Also room was dirty, carpet stained, bedding stained... DONT stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Oaks
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed there this summer, 2013, guess I remember the property back in the 70's when it was maintained. Owners were very friendly and helpful but the property lacks TLC. Very obvious that there is a lack of maintenance although the room still had the charm of the past, comfortable bed and nice view ot the lake, the chair in our room needed to be sent to the dump. Speaking of the lake, view was obstructed by four car tires piled up at the end of the motel. If you smoke you will enjoy the rusted coffee cans outside each room and the view of the garbage containers chained to the posts and weeds that have not been removed in ages! The restaurant had the same name in the past and understand why the change as I am sure they did not want to be associated with the current condition of the motel - food excellent at Lakeside Charlies. Paint and repairs, some overal pride of ownership would go a long way in bringing the property back as it has good value and like I mentioned, operators were very nice and it is on Lake Mitchell!

Room Tip: Looking for cheap, you will have it, looking for a property with TLC, forget it, but it does have vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I ended up stranded in Cadillac when our motorcycle died in the parking lot right next to the Sun and Snow Motel. We had to push our bike and trailer into their parking lot. When the owners found out about our problem, they were right there to offer help. The motel is an older motel but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfy, the room had a fridge and microwave, and the price was very reasonable. The location, which is right on Lake Mitchell, was fantastic. And once again, the owners were wonderful. You couldn't go wrong staying at this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This motel was the PERFECT location for what we needed. We had our boat and wanted to go fishing on lake mitchell. The room we got was actually nicer than the Cadillac Sands, which is on Lake Cadillac...but we could just cruise through the canal and go to lake cadillac since they had a boat launch. You will not get a better room for a lesser price ANYWHERE in cadillac! It is an Indian family that owns it, but they will LITERATELY cater to you hand and foot! Thank you Sun n' Snow!

Room Tip: As long as you request a room with two beds or more, you will receive great quality for the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stay here often during the ski season, just a few miles from Caberfae Peaks ski area. Great value -- nothing special, clean rooms, good shower and comfortable beds. The room rate has been in the $40 per night area if they are not busy.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very old and shows it. In need of some major updates. Pulling in the office looks like something out of Hansel & Gretal. I did research online before booking this room and read reviews of large clean rooms and friendly owners. The owners are nice enough but the rooms are not close to large. Also, I had called in July to reserve and spoke with the lady owner. I gave her the day and date of our stay. She told me the cost and reserved it on my credit card. When we get there she charged me 15.00 more than the quote because it was Friday. This really upset me because she knew when I made the reservation that I was arriving on a Friday. I feel this is extremely dishonest and an unfair practice. Lying about the price of a room will not bring back customers. The only things this place has going for it is that it does have a nice lake view and there are some very nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun-N-Snow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-N-Snow Motel

Address: 301 South Lake Mitchell Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant family owned hotel. Located close to beach and park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sun-N-Snow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun-N-Snow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.