We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older / Clean / Good Beds / Value for Ski Season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun-N-Snow Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sun-N-Snow Motel to your Saves list
Sun-N-Snow Motel
301 South Lake Mitchell Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Older / Clean / Good Beds / Value for Ski Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stay here often during the ski season, just a few miles from Caberfae Peaks ski area. Great value -- nothing special, clean rooms, good shower and comfortable beds. The room rate has been in the $40 per night area if they are not busy.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very old and shows it. In need of some major updates. Pulling in the office looks like something out of Hansel & Gretal. I did research online before booking this room and read reviews of large clean rooms and friendly owners. The owners are nice enough but the rooms are not close to large. Also, I had called in July to reserve and spoke with the lady owner. I gave her the day and date of our stay. She told me the cost and reserved it on my credit card. When we get there she charged me 15.00 more than the quote because it was Friday. This really upset me because she knew when I made the reservation that I was arriving on a Friday. I feel this is extremely dishonest and an unfair practice. Lying about the price of a room will not bring back customers. The only things this place has going for it is that it does have a nice lake view and there are some very nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wow is all I can say. This motel is in bad need of some TLC. We stayed in a "cabin" for 4th of July weekend, while the room was spacious and had everything a family of three (plus a dog) needed, the "cabin" left a lot to be desired. We first walked in and were greeted by a very strong musty smell, as if it had not been used in months, luckily we had brought our own Frebreze to help deodorize the room. There are just not words enough to explain how outdated and worn down the this place was. The bathroom sink was literally hanging on by a string, there was an old couch that didn't look safe to sit on, an old fridge that was no longer working just sitting there (luckily there was a newer fridge in the room as well), carpet that was worn, and the bedding was from the late 70's or early 80's.

There were a couple of good things, it is located right off of M115 right on Lake Mitchell. There is also a nice seafood restaurant that shares the parking lot called Lakeside Charlie's. There was a screened in front porch attached to the cabin (room 11) that had a great view of Lake Mitchell. I would say you're better off staying at the Days Inn up the road unless you're really set on being on the water.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

This little motel may be date by many years,however, it is excellent. Cheapest rates around by almost 30 a night, very friendly management, clean rooms, comfy beds. We will keep this place fir future reference for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun-N-Snow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-N-Snow Motel

Address: 301 South Lake Mitchell Drive, Cadillac, MI 49601
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant family owned hotel. Located close to beach and park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Sun-N-Snow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun-N-Snow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.