We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RIBS AND DESSERTS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern

Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern
15212 North Red Bud Trail, Buchanan, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 restaurants in Buchanan
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Phone is (269) 697-0043.
Portage, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT RIBS AND DESSERTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I have had consecutively great meals at Wheatberry over the the past year since we discovered it's existence from a billboard advertisement from the highway on our way to Four Winds Casino. It's a long drive but well worth it! We enjoy the hardwood smoked ribs and BBQ Pork sandwich. I recommend the Anchor Steam beer which is fabulous! Cornmeal cakes are terrific - we always have seconds with plenty of butter - and they have some of the best desserts of any restaurant we have ever been to! Apple pie, blueberry pie, chocolate, bourbon pecan pie (my favorite!) and others! Wheatberry is closed on Monday as we recently, sadly discovered. I highly recommend this out of the way tavern for a nice drive and a great meal - then treat yourself to the Four Winds Casino in New Buffalo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    26
    25
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buchanan, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Out of the way gem of a restaurant with great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Known for their brisket and bar-b-que, I personally like the Three Sisters vegetarian entree, a unique blend served over grilled polenta. Wheatberry's also has an extensive beer menu that ought to be enjoyed on the outdoor patio looking over the St. Joe river.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local spot with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was with a party of nine cousins and we all thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Wheatberry. The menu offered many choices in a variety of tastes. I shared the whole barbecue chicken with two sides and it was plenty for two women to eat! The service by Mike, the mnager, was commendable as he willingly moved our large party to another table by the window to accomodate one cousin with an environmental allergy to smoke.(Smoked meats, not cigarettes!) Our server, Chelsea, was delightful and easily took care of our large party. The desserts were amazing as we shared five of them together! We would defintitely return next summer when we are on cousins' weekend again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had heard good things about Wheatberry, and wanted to try it out. The house-smoked items I'd heard about were of particular interest. I had the brisket, and it was a real letdown. It was smoked (could see the smoke ring on the meat), but had hardly any smokey taste at all. It was tender, but any piece of meat that comes to the table that is half fat really should be. No joke, literally half of it was fat. My wife had the salmon, which was really nothing special and I've made better at home. The wait staff were pleasant and attentive enough, but the vibe of the place seemed more biker bar than anything else. Not that I have a problem with a good biker bar, this one just seemed to have delusions of being a fine dining establishment. Might try again sometime, maybe they just had an off day in the kitchen.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Not sure what the people had with great reviews! Our food was mediocre to say the least and the place was freezing in the middle of summer. Won't be going back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 
Buchanan, Berrien County
Buchanan, Berrien County
 

Been to Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.