We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rave is what? Not sure” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern

Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern
15212 North Red Bud Trail, Buchanan, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Buchanan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Phone is (269) 697-0043.
Stevensville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The rave is what? Not sure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Not sure why people would return here. Apparently they are none for the awesome cornbread they serve complimentary. We would not know because our waitress failed to bring us any. Then I ordered the bookers steak dinner....never been to a restaurant where you were not offered a soup or salad choice with an entree. The steak was just ok, nothing special and not worth the price. My husband ordered the darkened chicken with andouille sauce, now the waitress warned it was a "little" spicy. It was so spicy hot that he couldn't even tell if it was chicken or the veggies when he ate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Go here all the time. A great restaurant, you really cant go wrong with anything on the menu. The burgers and barbecue are very good with large portion sizes. Desserts are homemade and also delicious. Overall a great experience for such a small town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“consistent comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We go here regularly, not for a gourmet meal, but for the excellent barbecue (we get the combo plate, ribs and half chicken to split and it's more than enough for 2), the great local beers, and of course the Texas sheet cake, warm with ice cream on top. We never leave hungry. We've tried some other things; I like the smoked salmon served in large chunks, and done in house, when available as appetizer; the mango shrimp appetizer is pretty good; but we generally stick to the basics and leave satisfied.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I ate at Wheatberry's yesterday for the first time, after hearing some good things about it. First off, we both loved the atmosphere. The interior just had a nice feel. Our waitress was nice enough. She brought some samples of different beer on tap so that my husband could decide which he wanted. The problem we both found with this restaurant was the food. I've read several reviews stating the BBQ was delicious. Hmm. We would both strongly disagree. I ordered the Pulled Pork Sandwich and my husband ordered the Ribs. Both were extremely tough and the meant just had no flavor. The BBQ sauce was good, but the meat itself really shouldn't have been served to customers. My husband had to literally saw through the ribs to get them apart. And I had to eat my sandwich with a fork and knife b/c the meat was so tough. We would probably go back if we happened to be in the area and just wanted to sit outside and have a beer. But I doubt we would order food again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer Michigan
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“MMM Smoked BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Good beer selection, great food in a casual setting. Have eaten the pulled pork and beef and brisket and chicken and its all goo. Try the trout as well. Fresh and local foods and beer are featured.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Buchanan, Berrien County
 
Buchanan, Berrien County
Buchanan, Berrien County
 

Been to Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatberry Restaurant and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.