We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brimley State Park

Brimley State Park
9200 West 6 Mile Road, Brimley, MI 49715
(906) 248-3422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Brimley
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Brimley State Park over 2 visits in May and June. Beach-side camping spots for large RV spots are premium sites, but well worth the extra couple of bucks. Well cared for campsites with useable firepits. I LOVED the beach, especiallyas there were very few other campers. Walked down and past the point and explored the small bays on the east shore. Blissful. Super nice staff went over and above the call of duty arranging permits to save us a couple of bucks... and we didn't even ask!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tent camping Brimley State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My son and I just spent 2 nights at BSP.The weather was very warm,in the 90's.Our site (234) was 50ft to Lake Superior.So what better way to cool off,... go swimming .Brimley is in a protective bay, so the water was very calm and a nice hard sand bottom.No stones to worry about and you could walk out 150 ft and it was only 4 ft deep.Great for kids and adults.You can walk the beach 1-2 miles in either direction which was nice.Camp sites were good size, but most lacked shade trees.
It took us 5 hrs from the Detroit area.We are going back in August.Teq. Falls are 50 minutes away.There are two casino's 10 minutes away ( if you want to ruin a relaxing time).We highly recommend Brimley State Park for fresh air and star gazing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clean Sandy Beach! Walk & Enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have visited this wonderful Park twice to wonder the beach and wade in the beautiful water! I love beaches and this is a beautiful landmark just a step away from Sault Michigan, a great place to visit! Walk the beach, feel the warm sand and relax! Take a picnic, stay the day! But this shoreline is speckled with beautiful beaches, true natural gems! Nature at its best! Love it! Great for all ages! Great for campers, and day visitors! A must see in Michigan.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 days here in 2012 and had a great time. We could see the lake from our campsite, which was a very large site. The facilities were clean and they had stuff going on for young children every day (although we were usually off exploring somewhere!) We would definitely stay again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE TO CAMP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great outdoor space and a lovely campground. Get a spot closer to the interior if your visiting during the cooler months as the spots on the water get really cold. If your here during a scorcher on the water is great!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brimley State Park also viewed

 
Brimley, Upper Peninsula

Been to Brimley State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brimley State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.