We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this quirky little casino in Northern Michigan.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Mills Resort & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brimley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Mills Resort & Casino
Save
You added Bay Mills Resort & Casino to your Saves list
11386 West Lakeshore Drive, Brimley, MI 49715   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We love this quirky little casino in Northern Michigan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As local folks, we have never stayed in the hotel, so this review covers the restaurants and actual casino. First, the smoking. Look at all the Ontario license plates - lots of folks are over here in Michigan, smoking - you can't smoke in casinos in Ontario.....So the place does smell completely of smoke. Like going back to 1970's Ontario. If you can't handle this, there is a casino in Sault, Canada, absolutely smoke-free, but not nearly as friendly as Bay Mills. Also, Bay Mills is very popular with the Senior Crowd, and rightly so. Go on Canadian Day on Thursday & it is filled with retired Canadian Saultites. The slots often seem quite loose, and there are lots of comps for birthdays & anniversaries. We like the Friday night buffet of all-you-can-eat crab and prime rib. I think it is about $22.00 p.p. now, but good food and lots of it. The buffet on other nights is less expensive and less impressive. There is also a large menu to order from and we have never been disappointed - try the whitefish. Now - one nice thing about this casino is that children or people who don't gamble can come for supper and walk into the hotel and dining room and never see a slot machine. This is unusual. (There is the issue of the smoking, but at least they aren't looking at gambling - I imagine by law.) Can't say that for their Back Bay Lounge, which you have to thread through slot machines to reach. But if you're an adult, it has good pub food and a great view of Lake Superior.
Bay Mills has a wonderful golf course, always in excellent condition. Can't say enough good things about this course, and recommend it highly.
As some may know, the water level in the Great Lakes has dropped dramatically over the last 20 years. When this casino/hotel was built I am sure they assumed boats coming up to their docks which you can see outside the dining room window, more docks down by the Back Bay Lounge, and likely other water activities. Regrettably the whole area is now land with rushes and small bushes, not at all what was planned, for sure.
Across the street there is a large trailer park area and it is usually quite busy in the summer, filled with large campers.
Overall, the staff are pleasant, great golfing, nice little casino, love the Friday buffet, nice drive in the country to get there. Be warned about the tobacco smoke.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travel to Bay Mills every year for a golf getaway. The course is always in great shape and this year, although the weather was very cold and wet before we got there, the course was in excellent shape once again.
The resort however is another matter. The second you walk into the hotel the stench of smoke fills the air. Even in the reception area. There is a severe need of heavy duty smoke eaters in this area. The room that we had this year was good but getting to the room was difficult since even the halls smelled of smoke. I could only tolerate about an hour in the casino. Even the sports bar had no non-smoking areas so be prepared for someone lighting-up right next to you are you try and eat.
The staff are very friendly and co-operative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox Township
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful surrondings. Very nice rooms. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We had a very nice breakfast and dinner at the resteraunt. The casino was very nice and clean and easy to navigate.Again the staff was so friendly and nice, The area was breath taking. Glad we went

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

its a older small casino! the hotel room is your average place to stay! dont expect vegas! or you will be dissapointed! its not like the big indian casinos in lower Michigan turtle creak-soaring eagle... but if your into smaller crowds this is it... back bay bar/resturant is nice.. try the breakfast buffet in the main casino very good!

Room Tip: get a non smoking room! for non smokers!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAULT STE. MARIE
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are clean, food & housekeeping personnel are pleasant.
Restaurant (Sacy's) have crab legs, shrimp, prime rib, sirloin steaks, salad bar & desserts.
Entertainment - Back Bay Bar - On weekends usually have recorded music & sometimes live entertainment.
Hotel representatives are very helpful & courteous.
Hotel staff (upper mangement) are a wonderful staff.
Casino games are entertaining and sometimes one does win.

Room Tip: Choose a suite otherwise all other rooms are standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deedee1946
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 2 days and nights at Bay Mills casino resort and had a wonderful time. The staff are great and everyone was so relaxed and friendly. We enjoyed it so much that we plan on going again soon.It is so conveniently close as it's just 20 minutes or so past the border.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The commercials are catchy, but that's about it. This is not a RESORT and CASINO.. it's just a casino with hotel rooms..period. We decided to get the stay & game package, which was a $152 value. We ended up with a handicap king bed room. While the room and bathroom was accessible with ample room to navigate if I had a wheel chair, the shower was not. This is not a barrier free room. We were expecting at least a pool - there was none. The casino is right on a bay off of Lake Superior.. and you cannot even go swimming if you wanted to. The shoreline is nothing but weeds and reeds. The only saving grace to it is the boat launch. When we received our "fun cards," we were asked if we were interested in golfing or fishing. We had brought our fishing gear with us and said FISHING! By the way.. is there somewhere we can fish here without us having a boat? The poor girl said...uhhh out back, maybe?! ...while we went on our walk to check out the grounds, we were sadly disappointed.

We had a voucher for the dinner buffet, $15 in free play, a $3 voucher for a drink, and a voucher for the breakfast buffet. Aside from this, we had a room that is comfortable, but really nothing special with a TV, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot, hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. We had one king sized pillow each, and they were flat. We asked for another pillow each, and it took over an hour to get here with us calling TWICE, and we stayed right behind the front desk.

The food on the dinner buffet wasn't very appetizing in my opinion...and I certainly would never pay the $17 ticket price if it wasn't free. For Michigan being a state where it is illegal to smoke in a work place, and where you cannot even smoke in a bar, I figured we would be in a smoke-free facility. I do not smoke, and there are people smoking EVERYWHERE including inside of the restaurant. I sat down to a slot machine, and someone's still burning cigarette was sitting in an ash tray beside me that I had to extinguish myself.

Value wise it's not bad; all of the hotels in the area are $150-165, but don't expect a resort because this isn't one. You cannot get a massage, facial, pedicure, or anything like that. The only activity you can do other than gambling is golfing, or if you bring your own boat, boating. We came here for more of a resort on vacation, and it didn't meet our needs at all. While it may suffice for the senior citizen crowd (which, there were more of them here than any other casino I have been to,) it severely lacks things for younger people to do. We are 30 and 35, and were looking forward to a good experience.

We drove 4.5 hours to get here, and it was an incredible disappointment. Next time we will stay an hour from home and go to Soaring Eagle Casino and Resort in Mt. Pleasant instead...which IS a resort casino.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Mills Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Mills Resort & Casino

Address: 11386 West Lakeshore Drive, Brimley, MI 49715
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Brimley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brimley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Mills Resort & Casinos is located in Brimley, Michigan in the beautiful Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Sitting right on the waterfront Bay Mills offers two separate casinos, 142 hotel rooms, four different restaurants, 124 RV sites and a championship 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Mills Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.