We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place I stay at when in Brighton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8285 Movie Dr, Grand River & I-96, Brighton, MI 48116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Brighton
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only place I stay at when in Brighton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice staff, very clean and well located. This is the only place I stay when I visit our Brighton office. Only down side is the breakfast is lacking in my mind and other Holiday Express's I have stayed at do a early eve cocktail and snack time which this location does not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
12
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overall the hotel is nice, the breakfast was good but it is difficult to overlook those things when money is taken from your rooms. We were in town for the AAU Jr. Olympics and stayed at this property for a week. The first comment made to my husband by the front desk person was "where did all these black people come from"! We were told that they would go for months without seeing a person of color. We booked through Hotwire so we could not move to another property. We noticed the money missing initially from one of the coach's room. We immediately notified the front desk.
Kristin at the front desk is in need of customer service training and a major attitude adjustment. She was less then accommodating. After much persistence she contacted the general manager who basically said there was nothing he could do. After much persistence from my husband he agreed to a partial refund on our card that was used to book the room. I would expect the manager to immediately offer some sort of compensation when we had 4 rooms booked for a week. Also the money was taken out of my children's wallets. My one daughter's wallet never left the room because she was running at the meet.
The maids prop your room open and leave the area to go clean other rooms. I will never stay her again and would not recommend anyone else staying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Trackmom816,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Brighton, MI. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I traveled here on business and needed a quiet place to prepare. This hotel was clean and quiet. The reception personnel were very business like and helpful. I would stay here again! There are places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at this location recently, had all the basics you would expect form th HI Chain, convenient location, decent spread for breakfast, well layed out, rooms seemed a little small but room choice was not mine but the selection of the host company, may have been a room size I've never stayed in before, non the less was fine. Clean, well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear dgm999,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Cathy Osdras was particularly helpful in choosing an appropriate room for us while travelling with our grandson and in securing the same room on our return at the end of our stay in Michigan. The room, breakfast, and service was excellent and there were numerous choices for restaurants within walking distace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My father, sister and I travel to Brighton, Michigan for my nephw wedding. I request handicap rooms. MY father room was completely handicap both the tolet and the walk in bath tub. He could not have been more pleased. We were close to everything, (breakfast nook, pool) Other members of the family also stay at Holiday Inn. On Saturday night all of us were in the patio and there were no complaint about the noise. As a group we can get loud. The room's were clean. The staff was very helpful when we sign in and had a problem. They also were helpful when my father fell and couldn't get up.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I stay here occasionally because I have clients in town. I usually try to stay in Farmington but with my busy schedule it was going to make it so much easier to stay here. Last time I thought it was pretty bad and nothing has improved. Rooms are musty and the air filters likely haven't been changed in months. The carpet is dated and dingy. The bathroom is gross and the toilet seat was broken. I really try not to look at the place while I'm there or I will be super grossed out by the dingy and dirty place. It's not the worst but I stay at several Holiday Inns in the Midwest and its bad enough I know I dread staying here. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Short of that it is filthy to my standards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Chdcarro,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the air conditioning, cleanliness and the bathroom condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI

Address: 8285 Movie Dr, Grand River & I-96, Brighton, MI 48116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Brighton has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. You are at the heart of everything: shopping, dining, entertainment, and the arts. You are within a short distance of the Green Oaks Village Place Mall, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, and a number of local golf courses. Getting here is fast and convenient too! Centrally located between Detroit, Ann Arbor, Flint, and Lansing, we are located just off I-96 inside the Brighton Towne Square Shopping Mall. Whether you're coming to Brighton for business with Delphi, Metris USA, or Carl Zeiss, or just for fun at Kensington Metro Park, your room at the Holiday Inn Express is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as complimentary, high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or just relax in our whirlpool after a fun day of skiing at Mt. Brighton Ski Resort located just a half mile from the hotel. And when it's time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at the Stillwater Bar and Grill which has been rated the best restaurant in Livingston County for the past 11 years! The best of Brighton is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brighton, Mi Hotel Brighton
Holiday Inn Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brighton, MI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.