We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Livingston County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Zen

Sushi Zen
114 W. Grand River Ave., Brighton, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 97 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great sushi and bento boxes... worth listing.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Livingston County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you love sushi this is the best place to dine. Staff knowledgeable, friendly.seating limited so call ahead. Take out available.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
“sushi zen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Poor food, unclean restaurant with bad service and unprofessional staff.....save your money and try somewhere where they actually appreciate your business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Even Better!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have a supplier that I visit in Brighton once or twice a year, and we always go to Sushi Zen. I think that this ranks among my favorite restaurants worldwide (even Japan)! Their fusion of sushi and presentation is amazing. I was happy to see that they have expanded, as we always seemed to have to wait in the past. If I were to recommend a place for amazing flavors in the world... I kid you not, I love this place!!! Yummy... can't wait to get back in July!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi and Newly Renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Sushi Zen offers really incredible sushi, with a great presentation! We only went for a small snack, so we didn't get to try as much as I would've liked, but I am confident that this place offers superb sushi! Everything I ate and everything I saw being prepared at the sushi bar, looked incredible and very fresh. They do well with presentation as well- they make it a little more unique than some of the other sushi places I have been. I will definitely go back again and again to try more!

Tried: Crazy Girl Roll (see picture)
Avocado Boat (appetizer)
Miso Soup

ALL very tasty!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi in Small town Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The restaurant has been newly redesigned with a very upscale clean modern look. The presentation of the food is pure artistry and the care and attention to taste is evident. This food compares with the best you will find in New York or Tokyo for that matter. The extensive menu has selections that will please any foodie. Admittedly a location in a nondescript strip mall is a bit strange, but, the decor, food and service makes this a gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Zen also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Zen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.