We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Dunes - A Sight Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warren Dunes State Park

Warren Dunes State Park
Red Arrow Highway, Bridgman, MI 49125-9166
+1 269 4264013
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 attractions in Bridgman
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Leesburg, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent Dunes - A Sight Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're used to Atlantic shore dunes; hah! Prepare to be amazed. At 250 ft+ high, and constructed over years of Lake Michigan prevailing winds, these dunes are jaw-dropping in their natural wonder. Park officials are friendly and helpful (in stark contrast to the cold "welcome" we got at the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore). Figure about an hour to view the dunes and stroll the shore (more if you want to actually climb the dunes).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    44
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a great view of Lake Michigan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friends took us for a look at beautiful Lake Michigan and said there would be sand dunes. What a surprise to see how high the dunes are up close! We climbed without a problem, all of us in our 60's and took some great photos from the top. So glad we made the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Grat place to relax in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Awesome family outting. Pristine sand and clear calm waters. Not far from the Chicagoland area. About a 2 hour drive from the northwest Chicago suburbs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome beach and lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A 2 hr ride from the northwestern suburbs of chicago. The drive is easy.

The beach is clean clean clean and the water clear and calm. The sand has white tones and pillowy soft.

Ideal for a family get a way or a romatic beach outting.

I've been there twice this summer and there is always plenty of space for everyone.

A little bit of paradice just 2 hours from Chicagoland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious beach on Lake Michigan, restrooms are another story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Warren Dunes for the beach, so did not explore the rest of the park. There was lots of parking at the beach. We parked in the front row of the first parking lot, in front of the restrooms. The concession stand is at the middle parking lot. We brought our own food so did not visit the concession stand.

The walk to the beach is easy - a straight shot from the parking lots. (Much better than having to climb down a dune to get to the beach like some other places along Lake Michigan.) The beach is very large and we had no problem finding a place to settle down. The sand was soft and comfortable to walk in. I really liked this beach a lot. There were plenty of trash cans around to toss trash after eating.

The steep dune behind the parking lots looked like it would be a challenge to climb. We did not have time to try it.

The restrooms were pretty gross - in the ladies room, one stall's entire toilet paper roll was completely wet and another stall wouldn't flush and it was full. The stalls didn't have hooks for hanging your purse/bag. There was no soap for washing hands. My son was grossed out in the boys restroom and said there was feces on a toilet seat.

Admission for out-of-state plates was around $8.45 or something like that.

Overall, this was a great beach and I would consider revisiting. I just wish the restroom facilities were nicer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warren Dunes State Park also viewed

Bridgman, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Warren Dunes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warren Dunes State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warren Dunes State Park to your Saves list