We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Run at Boyne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain Run at Boyne to your Saves list
Mountain Run at Boyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   03095 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Room was nice and clean initially. But at night you could hear a high pitched whistle every time the heater fan came on. The toilet tank would start that filling sound throughout the night. And there was a smell of mould. When my wife and I decided to use the jacuzzi it spit out black and grey particles in the water probably because it hasn't been serviced or used in a while. The staff were unable to fix the problems. Not what I expected for Blue Green Resort.

Room Tip: I'm sure other rooms are better. Make sure everything is in quiet working order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Mountain Run at Boyne, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello William W J,

We regret to learn your experience at Mountain Run did not live up to your expectations. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness and would like to further discuss your experience. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    56
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
74
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We've been coming to this resort yearly since 2008, 2 bedroom is very spacious. This visit we stayed in a recently renovated 2br i really loved the simple but very nice updates, staff is always friendly. Wifi is available for free however its really weak connection and the only complaint i have.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Mountain Run at Boyne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello Nedra M,

Thank you for continuing to return to Mountain Run and sharing your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the renovations. We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

For Spring Break this year we selected a RCI Exchange with Bluegreen for a 3 bedroom condo at Mountain Run at Boyne. The 3 bedroom was actually a 2 bedroom which connected to a 1 bedroom in the heated private foyer. This arrangement worked wonderfully as mom and dad had a separate place to relax, enjoy the fireplace, and watch TV while the kids played, enjoyed their fireplace and watched TV in the 2 bedroom. Both rooms had new and comfortable accommodations. Beds were very comfortable and we had no problems enjoying a sound nights sleep. The indoor hot tub was a short walk from the condo to the clubhouse an holds 15 people which is nice when you come back from hitting the slopes. The club house rents DVD's (including new titles) for a $1 which is great to pick up after a soak in the hot tub. Hot coffee and cocoa are also available 24hrs in the club house. Boyne Mountain is only quick drive away (still on the property) and we actually drove back to the condo each day for lunch while skiing. I would highly recommend Mountain Run to anyone, we had a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Building 1100 has been recently remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Mountain Run at Boyne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello Repappy,

Thank you for exchanging into Mountain Run. We are happy our accommodations were perfectly suited for you and your family. We are glad you enjoyed our indoor hot tub after a day of hitting the slopes. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Boyne, only to be marred by the indoor outdoor pool at the Grand Lodge, please, do not wear jewelry, as the concentrate of salt is very high, we were unaware and did not see any notices relating to the levels of salt. Consequently, my fiancé and I have now got two matching corroded rings:( and a ruined swimsuit.
please, supervise your children at all times as the coating of the pool walls and floor is not forgiving to little ones skin. As we found out from our little lad who came out of the pool with scuffs all around the top half of his body.
Please Boyne, out notices up relating to the pool, it would really help parents and people in general.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Mountain Run at Boyne, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Babyjag1974,

We are delighted you had a great time at Mountain Run. However, we regret to learn of the disappointing experience you had at Grand Lodge pool. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will consider a return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days, the service was great. We arrived early and they had our room ready at 1pm (check-in usually at 4pm). We stayed in a one bedroom that was lovely but a little outdated. Fireplace in the living room, kitchen comes equipped with everything you need, as does the bathroom. The only thing is their pool is not open in the winter, and the hot tub is pretty small and enclosed in a small room so you want to take advantage of the Boyne property outdoor pool/hot tub. This means a short shuttle ride in your bathing suit, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Mountain Run at Boyne, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello simply07sarah,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mountain Run. We are delighted you enjoyed the accommodations and felt you received great service. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Boyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I want to start off by saying Boyne Mountain is a great place to go and the property Bluegreen manages is ok but the hassel for their promotion is not worth it. I would recommend Boyne Resort accomodations (NON BlueGreen Part of it) to any family in the summer or winter. My poor rating is NOT targeted towards the property Blue Green manages, it is their targeted towards their customer services, pushy/rude sales people and their unethical business practices. Shame on Bass Pro Shop for letting them sell their scams inside.

If you go to a Bass Pro shop and see the BlueGreen stand, RUN, it is a SCAM and you will be unhappy, and here is why.

Where things went wrong for us is we stopped by the BlueGreen stand at a Bass Pro Shop in Auburn Hills, Michigan. We purchased in February a $150 package for a two night stay, the "catch" is you had to listen to a 2 hour sales pitch, after walking buy the stand multiple times I figured why not, after all the salespeople promised all these great places and occupancy would not be a problem. I purchased this package in February and I immediately tried to book a room for summer, I was told "that is for members", but you can go in April or November - not an ideal time to go to Boyne as it is mud season. After making a big stink, I got 2 nights labor day weekend.

After you arrive, you will be required to sit through a 2 hour presentation, it started off somewhat decent with the sales people saying no pressure, and they later put all families/couples with an individual salesperson that really started to put high pressure on us buying this concept for like 30 to 40k, like 15% interest and then over $1000 annual maintenance fee. I thought that was a joke as anyone in their right mind would not purchase this "time share concept".

On top of it, I have 3 young kids, they would not let them leave or go outside during the sale pitch, they were forced to stay inside with us as both parents were required to be present with the individual sales people, we spent 3 hours and it was awful, my kids were hungry and the salewoman's pressure and her supervisor would not stop.

Like an IDIOT, I purchased one of their 700 dollar packages that we were told was good for multiple places at various resorts at anytime. Of course 1 month ago when I tried to book a package with this purchase, I was told it was only good for Phoenix, Las Vegas, Aruba and Florida in the summer months, not ideal to fly a family of 5 to these locations and it is also not the best time of year to go there with young kids in the heat.

The saleswoman and her supervisor had LIED to us, they said we could use this package anytime and any of their resorts, which was not true. I called their customer service and it was also a JOKE, their customer service people and supervisors were AWFUL and rude, they would not budge on anything. I finally made such a stink on of the supervisors finally agreed to let us to use our package at the Boyne Resort in August, but I had to make multiple phone calls and a lot of unpleasantries to make this happen. I had wanted to use this at Myrtle Beach in the summer but of course it didn't qualify.

No one from BlueGreen has called me after I filed several complaints, I also filed a compliant with Bass Pro Shop as I at least want to let them know what is going on. Listed below are some web links regarding BlueGreen, please Google BlueGreen Scam before you buy ANYTHING from them, you will regret it.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/bluegreen-vacation-resorts/pigeon-forge-tennessee/bluegreen-vacation-resorts-bluegreen-resorts-sales-reps-flat-out-lied-to-make-the-sale-rip-268499

http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/bluegreen-resorts-rude-pushy-sales-tactics-c630440.html

http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/bluegreen-resorts-c105721.html

http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/bluegreen-resorts-c338815.html

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g45963-d1145601-r143294046-Bluegreen_Club_36-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html

http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/bluegreen-resorts/boca-raton-florida-33431/bluegreen-resorts-big-cedar-lodge-bass-pro-shop-stock-symbol-bxg-bluegreen-corporation-847587

I hope anyone who reads this does not buy anything from BlueGreen so you don't get ripped of like we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Mountain Run at Boyne, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello jeff197025,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are glad to hear you were impressed with Mountain Run Resort. However, we regret to learn of your disappointment with your experience with the Bluegreen Vacations timeshare program. We strive to educate potential owners of the benefits of timeshare in the most pleasant manner possible. Friendly and helpful customer service are of our utmost concerns. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so we can look further into your experience. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Bluegreen last year and had decent visit. I had hoped that there would have been some upgrades since then. Unfortunately, there have been none. I am surprised that there is still no WIFI in the rooms. It's 2014! Not only is there no WIFI, but the wired network connection was slower than a dial-up. We rented a two bedroom. There is a small 30 in flat screen above the gas fireplace. The TV's in the master bedroom and 2nd bedroom are tube TV's. The décor is very tired.

The mattresses are horrible. They provide very little support and squeak at every movement. The furnace is very loud when it turns on and woke us up throughout the night. The unit was stocked with all of the necessities in the kitchen (dishes, utensils, etc.). Including, coffee, & hot chocolate. Full size refrigerator, oven/stove, microwave & dishwasher.
The location is fantastic. 1 minute to the slopes. You can park in front of your room. The room was clean. The service is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Mountain Run at Boyne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello BelieverMI,

Thank you for returning to Mountain Run Resort. We regret to learn this stay did not leave you with a more favorable impression. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss your experience further. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Run at Boyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Run at Boyne

Address: 03095 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Run at Boyne 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Run at Boyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Run At Boyne Hotel Boyne Falls
Mountain Run Boyne
Mountain Run At Boyne Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Run at Boyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.