We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Mountain Ski Area

Boyne Mountain Ski Area
One Boyne Mountain Road, Boyne Falls, MI 49713
231-549-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When it's time to plan your next Michigan family vacation or weekend getaway, choose Boyne Mountain and experience the finest skiing, and many more activities for the entire family. BOYNE families enjoy days on the slopes with a full service spa, Solace Spa, and Avalanche Bay indoor waterpark the largest indoor water park in Michigan. Luxurious lodging options provide the ultimate in comfort. Make Boyne Mountain your next ski vacation getaway!
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I enjoyed the size of the resort being used to the small ones in Ohio/Indy. Lots of green runs and black diamond (perhaps lacking in blues). I brought my own equipment but my friends rented and that just seemed like a hassle and they made you go downstairs- it just didn't seem as convenient as other places. Found the lift ticket/lesson combos a little confusing. I loved how they had a shuttle thing to bring you to/from your car. Overall, we had a great time and it wasn't crowded at all despite being a Saturday in mid March with nice weather.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    13
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everett's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The waitstaff was very pleasant and attentive and the food was excellent. I had a wonderful seafood and pasta dish the night I arrived and breakfast the following morning was also good. The prices are reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to ski for any level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a great place to learn to ski or challenge yourself. I started on the bunny hill and moved up step by step as my skills improved. The rental was great, lessons only so so but that was a few years ago. Over all this is a great place to go for skiers of all ages and levels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Michigan Skiing at Boyne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I drove up during March break, not seeing a lot of snow on the drive I wasn't expecting great conditions, I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Lots of fresh snow had fallen the night before and more was forecasted overnight and the next day. Temperatures plunged to -10 - 8 C overnight and hovered around -1 for the day. - Perfect conditions. No ice on the slopes, well groomed. All runs were open, it's a great hill for novices and easy skiing / boarding lots of greens and a few blues. The main slope is single and double diamond. The main lift is high speed, can carry 8 people comfortably up the main slope, While Two Disciples are fed by three older lifts that seat 2-4 people depending on which run you jump on. Lots of amenities on site, great sandwich shop, bar at the base of the hill with a welcoming roaring fire. The hotel on site is expansive ( i did not stay at the hotel this time around) book early if you plan to and ask for deals with passes included. Nearby towns have lots of restaurants if you want to migrate off site. I enjoyed my first vist to Boyne and would go back. Great place to learn to ski, kid and teen friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a Golf review for Boyne Mountain.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am reviewing Boyne, Crystal, Treetops and Garland resorts for their golfing vacations. They each offer something unique, Briefly, best golf-Treetops, best couple romantic getaway with great golf-Garland, best all around something for everyone-Crystal. Boyne offers its own best abd that is family fun. This is a great place for golfers to bring their families. Dad, or mom, or mom and dad get very good golfing, while the kids get the water park, zip lines, Swimming pools, hot tubs, Deer Lake, Boyne City, Ski lift rides to the top of the mountain and more. It is virtually a playground for a family. The Accommodations are very nice, the family atmosphere is great, the golf is very good, the benefits are abundant.
Boyne = Family #1, Groups #2, Romantic get away #3. A Great all around golf experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyne Mountain Ski Area also viewed

Boyne Falls, Charlevoix County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 

Been to Boyne Mountain Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Mountain Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.