We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mt Villas were not what we were expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boyne Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Boyne Mountain Resort
1 Boyne Mountain Road, Boyne Falls, MI 49713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Sanford, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Mt Villas were not what we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

When looking for a place at Boyne that would accommodate 10 people we saw the Mt. Villa's and they seemed to be a good choice. The Boyne/Avalanche Bay website showed a Villa that was very appealing to the eye. When we got into our room/Villa, it was nothing what the pictures promised us. Besides the kitchen, it was completely out dated with brown shag carpet and 60's decor. By looking at the pictures we were expecting a refrigerator just a bit smaller than the average one, but instead we got 2 hotel size refrigerators with the tiniest freezer. The rooms were so dirty with cobwebs in the bathroom and nobody had vacuumed around the couch because we had found food on the floor before we even started to eat. The bathtubs didn't have anything on them to prevent someone from falling; they were very slippery and dangerous. We had small kids there and it posed an unsafe environment. On the plus side we were very close to the water park which made getting there convenient. There was entertainment for the family around Boyne and the kids had a good time.

Room Tip: Call the the resort and ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    84
    25
    27
    19
See reviews for
106
26
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

As an active Grandmother, I have taken my grandchildren to many well-known and not so well known attractions, including water parks. Therefore, I was dismayed that this Water Park, supposedly a "Best Attraction", was so woefully understaffed and ill prepared. Even our basic needs could not be met, such as enough dry towels for the six of us and life jackets for two small children.

In addition, after we were there an hour, an alarm sounded, which was ear piercing, but the staff provided no explanation, information or instruction. The water park was full of swimmers, who were waitng for an explanation, but one was NEVER given. Apparently, this water park has no over-head speaker system or mega-phones, as neither were used by the Staff, at any time, to speak to its guests.

After we got out of the water, we stood in our wet suits, with no dry towels to be found, hesitating to go outside, as it was only about 35 degrees or so. After one full hour, we were allowed to go back into the water, but to this day, I do not know what took place.

Will this Water Park be closed only after it suffers a tragedy by the means of a fire, tornado, or other unexpected accident?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We traveled with family for a ski trip. We found the lodge very nice the ski hills nicely groomed and staff very friendly. We asked if there was a microwave to pop popcorn and the provided us one for our room free of charge! Waterpark was a nice bonus. The only downside was that we wish village shops would of had longer hours. We wil be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This place is messed up and we spent good money to stay there. The sofa was ripped and the piping was coming out. The chairs around the kitchen table were broke. There was no recycling, no housekeeping. There was sleeping for 10 but the living space was big and comfy enough for 4. There was 1 television for 3 separate sleeping areas and it didn't have a DVD player. There were no hair dryers in the 3 bathrooms. The wifi did not work.We had problems checking in and the resort not dividing the bill correctly. Our reservations for ski lessons were messed up. BUT the kids LOVED the skiing and the waterpark!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011 via mobile

Mountain Grand is not a four star resort. Three on it's best day.

Everywhere we turned the place was understaffed.

Bellman, reception, lifeguards, waitstaff, barista, and on and on....totally understaffed.

Adult ski school was good, but my five year old was jammed into a class with six other kids. The school was so disorganized and responsibility was visibly diffused He hated it! Great. Thanks for the negative association Boyne.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Boyne over MLK holiday weekend. We stayed in the Grand Lodge in a suite that had a sleeper sofa downstairs and a king bed in an upstairs bedroom. The unit was very spacious,clean and up to date. Bed was very comfortable and bedroom has a large whirlpool tub in addition to the 2 bathrooms the unit had. Main restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices and with a nice view of the downhill skiing. Hotel has a nice indoor/outdoor pool. We went for the snowshoeing and cross country skiing and both are nice there. We enjoyed our stay and would go there again. Only complaint is that things really shut down at off peak times. We were there through Tuesday of the holiday weekend and on Monday afternoon the waterpark(one of the nicer ones we've been to) had 2 slides closed down(lack of staff),Tuesday there was no fireplace in the lobby fireplace,etc. I'm not sure I'd want to be there during the week although the rates drop a lot at that time. We did have poor housekeeping one day of our stay but main housekeeper said they were training someone and this was not typical of our experience there. Would visit there again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I took our three kids (11,9,6) to Boyne Mountain for a three day ski vacation in early January (a very cold three days). While the wait for food at all of the resort's restaurants was a bit long, the overall service and performance of the resort staff was very good to outstanding. On the first day, our kids received great ski instruction from the experienced ski staff and moments after we requested a rollaway bed from the main desk is was delivered. The room, a one bedroom suite in the main building, was very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The indoor/outdoor pool was well maintained and surprisingly warm (90 degrees).

We did have some problems with the temperature in our room as we were not provided the necessary heating instructions upon check in. Likely for conservation reasons, the hotel equipped our suite with a device - a slot just inside the door - that regulates the heating and cooling system provided a hotel key is inserted into the slot. We were not informed of this system until we called the main desk after the temperature hovered at about 64 degrees most of the first day. In addition, we found out after the fact that even if the hotel key was properly inserted into the heating device, room only heated if the thermostat was set to "auto" instead of "heat." We had set it to "heat" the just before going to bed one night and the temp dropped to 58 degrees. A simple instruction guide above the thermostat would take care of these problems.

The skiing was great as the slopes were perfect for kids learning how to ski and the staff working the lifts were very friendly, patient and helpful. Pierson's pub offered a good lunch option at the base of the hill (food decent, great atmosphere). The small village vibe around the base on the mountain, complete with ice cream shop, pub and shopping was very nice. The campfires outside and inside the resort were very welcome during the cold weekend. The kids also enjoyed the waterpark and snow tubing. The fitness center was large and offered a wide variety of quality equipment. Overall, the experience at Boyne Mountain was very satisfying .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Mountain Resort

Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Road, Boyne Falls, MI 49713
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Boyne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Boyne Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.